Chartered Investment Manager (CIM®)

The recognized credential for investment managers

How to Find a CIM® Holder?

Investors are invited to use this Directory to locate qualified portfolio managers who have attained the CIM® designation.

When you hire an accredited CSI financial professional, you’re hiring an expert who has been trained by Canada’s most trusted and respected financial services education provider. Since it was established in 1970 as the Canadian Securities Institute, over three-quarters of a million financial professionals have chosen CSI for their career training and development

Find a Graduate

Why Choose a CIM® Holder?

There’s so much more to investment and portfolio management than just picking stocks—especially in the discretionary space, where clients have increasingly sophisticated needs.

The CIM® is the industry standard for discretionary investment and portfolio management services. It ensures that financial professionals have the knowledge and skills to evaluate and manage all aspects of a client’s investment portfolio. It is recognized by Canadian securities regulators and ensures that those who earn it are qualified to evaluate and manage all aspects of a client’s investment portfolio.

Those who choose to work with a CIM® can feel confident that their investment portfolio is optimized to meet their financial goals. Not only do CIM®s provide clients with quality service and investment advice, but they are also held to high professional standards. They are required to abide by a Code of Ethics and fulfil maintenance requirements to make sure they always bring their best service and strategies to the table.

Public Complaints and Ethical Misconduct Process

Allegations of violation of the CIM® Code of Ethics are dealt with by the Designation Ethics Committee according to the CSI Ethical Misconduct Process. If the Committee determines a violation occurred, a disciplinary sanction is recommended. Possible sanctions are outlined in the Ethical Misconduct Process. Before filing a formal complaint with CSI, we strongly recommend trying to resolve the issue by speaking directly with the CIM® in question. Those who cannot come to a resolution should contact CSI through our CIM® complaints email address. Complaint submissions should include:

  • Details of the alleged Code of Ethics violation
  • Sufficient background information/documentation to support the allegation
  • Name and contact details of the complainant

CSI does not recommend sharing confidential financial information through email.

Request More Information

Would you like to keep informed about CSI's products and promotions?

Promotion Check

Gestionnaire de placements agréé (CIMMD)

Le titre de compétence reconnu des gestionnaires de placements

Comment trouver un détenteur du titre de CIMMD?

Les investisseurs sont invités à parcourir ce répertoire pour trouver dans leur région des conseillers financiers qualifiés qui ont décroché le titre de CIMMD.

Lorsque vous recourez aux services d’un professionnel en finances accrédité par CSI, vous faites appel à un expert formé par le fournisseur de formation en services financiers le plus fiable et le plus respecté au Canada. Depuis sa création en 1970 sous le nom d’Institut canadien des valeurs mobilières, plus de 750 000 professionnels de la finance ont choisi CSI pour leur formation et leur perfectionnement professionnel.

Find a Graduate

Pourquoi faire appel à un titulaire du CIMMD?

Il y a tellement plus dans la gestion des placements et des portefeuilles que la simple sélection d’actions, en particulier dans le domaine discrétionnaire, où les clients ont des besoins de plus en plus sophistiqués.

Le titre de gestionnaire de placements agréé (CIMMD) constitue la principale norme sectorielle en matière de services de gestion discrétionnaire de placements et de portefeuilles. Il donne l’assurance que le professionnel de la finance détient les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour évaluer et gérer toutes les composantes du portefeuille d’un client. Reconnu par les organismes canadiens de réglementation des valeurs mobilières, il atteste que son détenteur possède les qualifications nécessaires pour évaluer et gérer tous les aspects du portefeuille d’un client.

Les personnes qui choisissent de faire appel aux services d’un CIMMD peuvent avoir l’assurance que leur portefeuille sera optimisé de manière à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers. Les détenteurs du titre de CIMMD assurent la prestation de services et de conseils de placements de qualité, en plus de respecter des normes professionnelles élevées. Ils sont tenus de se conformer au code de déontologie et de respecter les exigences relatives à la conservation du titre, afin de constamment proposer les meilleurs services et les stratégies les plus efficaces à leurs clients.

Plaintes de clients et procédure en cas de faute déontologique

Les allégations de violation du code de déontologie des CIMMD sont prises en charge par le Comité de déontologie des titres professionnels, conformément au processus en cas de faute déontologique de CSI. Si le comité détermine qu’il y a eu violation, une sanction disciplinaire est recommandée. Le détenteur du titre de CIMMD peut accepter la sanction recommandée ou demander une audience. Les sanctions disciplinaires peuvent comprendre les mesures suivantes :

  • Détails de la violation alléguée du Code d’éthique
  • suffisamment de renseignements et de documents contextuels pour appuyer cette allégation;
  • le nom et les coordonnées du plaignant.

CSI déconseille de partager des renseignements financiers confidentiels par courriel.

Demander plus d'informations

Souhaiteriez-vous que l'on vous tienne au courant des produits et des promotions de CSI?

Promotion Check