Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu


In Canada, individuals who sell financial products, such as: mutual funds, insurance, securities or stocks, options, futures, OR have specific duties within a financial services company, such as portfolio management or supervisory responsibilities are required to meet educational, employment and work experience criteria in order to be licensed. Once the licensing requirements have been met, the application for registration is handled by either your employer or, if you are working independently by a sponsoring financial services firm. After you are licensed you may also be required to take further educational courses (continuing education) to maintain your license.

Below is general information about each of the licensing bodies or regulators. To find out about specific licensing requirements please check directly with the various regulators.

Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC):

IIROC is the regulatory body for all securities firms in Canada. It sets the proficiency requirements for individuals who sell securities such as stocks, bonds, mutual funds, options and/or futures. In addition, IIROC regulations require that those who have specific roles within the member firms (all securities firms are IIROC members), such as portfolio management or supervisory roles such as branch management, meet defined educational and work experience criteria.

Mutual Funds Dealer Association (MFDA):

The MFDA is formally recognized as an SRO in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick and Manitoba and is currently pending approval in Newfoundland Labrador. The MFDA has also entered into a co-operative agreement with the Autorit des march s financiers and actively participates in the regulation of mutual fund dealers in Quebec. The MFDA member rules reflect the mutual fund sales licensing proficiency requirements determined by the provincial securities commissions under National Instrument 31-103. In addition to the base requirements set by the commissions, the MFDA sets proficiency requirements for its members for individuals who supervise those who sell mutual funds.

The Autorit des March s Financiers

Within the Province of Quebec, the Authorite des Marches Financiers oversees the proficiency requirements for the distribution of financial products including mutual funds and insurance.

Securities Commissions

The ultimate authority for the licensing requirements of all individuals selling any type of securities rests with each provincial securities commission. In the case of IIROC member firms, IIROC is responsible for the filing with the appropriate provincial securities commissions. Mutual fund companies file directly with the commissions. The Canadian Securities Administrators website provides links to each of the Securities Commissions.

Insurance Regulators

Each province has either an insurance regulator or a department within the government that takes care of registration and oversight of licensed insurance sales persons. The firms must file directly with each regulator. The Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators website provides links to each of the provincial insurance regulators.

The following are the CSI courses that meet the educational requirements for positions regulated by IIROC, MFDA, Provincial Securities Commissions and the Provincials Insurance Regulators. Please note that in addition to these educational requirements, these positions may have additional requirements such as work experience.

Securities Sales Licensing under the Investment Industry Organization of Canada (IIROC):

Mutual Fund Sales Licensing under the Canadian Securities Administrators

Mutual Fund Proficiency Requirements under the Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada

Licensing under the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA)*

Exempt Market Dealer

Portfolio Manager

Life Insurance Agent under the Provincial Life Insurance Regulators:

*Under National Instrument 31-103, the course requirements have been stated in terms of examination types and are referred to as: