Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Financial Planner

Financial planning is a key service provided through many sectors of the financial services industry. While the job titles differ, Investment Advisors, Financial Advisors, Personal Banking Representatives, Mutual Fund Sales Representatives and Insurance Sales Agents all provide some element of financial planning advice and services to clients. There are Independent Financial Planners who may also be licensed to sell insurance, mutual funds or other securities, while others work on a fee-only basis. Big investment dealers and banks also employ Financial Planners to provide financial planning advice and aid the work of their Investment Advisors and Representatives who deal directly with clients.

Success requires strong technical competence in all areas of financial planning, as well as a good working knowledge of estate planning, tax and family law. Most importantly, a Financial Planner must be able to communicate effectively, particularly when dealing with the complex needs of high-net-worth individuals and businesses. This type of service is often referred to as wealth management.

On the job with a Financial Planner

I have the CIM, FCSI, STI, CFP, and CMC designations. Achieving these has definitely had a good impact on my career. They have helped to create opportunities and to build credibility. Learn more ...

Financial Planner, FCSI, CIM, CFP, MBA, Credit Union
  • Assess clients' financial needs for retirement, tax and estate planning.
  • Formulate financial plans and solutions to fulfill client objectives.
  • Implement financial plans that are monitored and reviewed regularly.
  • Stay informed on current investment products and changes in the markets and tax laws.
  • Provide comprehensive wealth management advice, including guidance on investment and portfolio management issues, to high net worth clients.
  • Refer to, or consult with, tax, legal and estate planning specialists as needed.
  • Prospect for new clients and build an established business.

Financial Planners usually start out with a university or college degree. To receive professional accreditation, they are expected to first complete financial planning courses such as those leading to CSI's Financial Management Advisor Designation, which are the Canadian Securities Course (CSC), the Professional Financial Planning Course (PFPC) and the Wealth Management Techniques (WMT) course.

Another sought-after designation is The Certified Financial Planner (CFP™), granted by the Financial Planners Standards Council. While CSI does not award this designation, completion of our Canadian Securities Course (CSC) or Investment Funds in Canada (IFC), Financial Planning I (FP I) and Financial Planning II (FP II) qualifies candidates to take the CFP exam.

Compensation varies widely and depends on factors like the size of the employer's business, the state of the economy and markets, and whether a planner holds a license to sell mutual funds, securities or insurance. Jobs can be salary-based, commission-based or a combination. See earnings descriptions for Investment Advisor, Personal Banking Representative, Financial Advisor, Mutual Fund Sales Representative and Life Insurance Sales Agent to find out more about financial planning-related salary ranges.

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Planificateur financier

La planification financière est un service essentiel que fournissent de nombreux secteurs de l'industrie des services financiers. Même si le titre de leur poste diffère, les conseillers en placement, conseillers financiers, représentants des services bancaires aux particuliers, représentants en épargne collective et agents d'assurance sont appelés à offrir à leurs clients des conseils et des services en matière de planification financière. Il existe des planificateurs financiers indépendants qui sont autorisés à vendre des produits d'assurance, des fonds communs de placement ou autres titres, tandis que d'autres demandent des honoraires. Les grandes maisons de courtage et les banques emploient aussi des planificateurs financiers pour offrir des services de planification et collaborer avec des conseillers ou des représentants en placement qui traitent directement avec les clients.

Le succès dans ce domaine nécessite de solides compétences dans tous les domaines de la planification financière et une bonne compréhension de la planification fiscale, de la planification successorale et du droit de la famille. Surtout, le planificateur financier doit être un communicateur efficace, en particulier s'il veut répondre aux besoins complexes de particuliers fortunés ou d'entreprises. Ce type de service est souvent désigné sous le nom de gestion de patrimoine.

  • Cerner les besoins des clients en matière de retraite, de fiscalité et de planification successorale.
  • Dresser un plan financier et formuler des solutions pour réaliser les objectifs des clients.
  • Mettre en oeuvre le plan, en surveiller l'exécution et le réviser régulièrement.
  • Se tenir au courant des produits de placement offerts, de l'évolution des marchés et des modifications apportées à la législation fiscale.
  • Donner aux clients fortunés des conseils judicieux sur la gestion des avoirs, notamment sur la gestion des placements et du portefeuille.
  • Adresser le client à des spécialistes en fiscalité, en droit et en planification successorale, ou les consulter soi-même au besoin.
  • Rechercher de nouveaux clients et constituer une clientèle bien établie.

Les planificateurs financiers possèdent généralement un diplôme universitaire ou collégial. Pour obtenir une reconnaissance professionnelle, ils doivent suivre avec succès des cours sur la planification financière, par exemple les cours offerts par CSI et menant au titre de Conseiller en gestion financière, soit le Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada, le Cours sur la planification financière et le Cours sur la gestion de patrimoine.

Un autre titre très convoité est celui de Certified Financial Planner (CFPMC), décerné par le Conseil relatif aux standards des planificateurs financiers du Canada (site en anglais). Même si CSI ne décerne pas ce titre, les candidats qui ont réussi le Cours sur la planification financière sont admissibles à s'inscrire à l'examen de CFP.

Au Québec, le seul titre de planification financière reconnu et autorisé est celui qui est décerné par l'Autorité des marchés financiers. Ce titre est accordé aux candidats qui satisfont aux exigences de formation de l'Institut québécois de la planification financière (IQPF).

La rémunération varie beaucoup et dépend de facteurs comme la taille de la société qui emploie le candidat, la situation de l'économie et des marchés, et l'autorisation de vendre des fonds communs de placement, des valeurs mobilières ou des produits d'assurance. La rémunération peut être sous forme de salaire, de commissions ou une combinaison des deux. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la rémunération liée à la planification financière, reportez-vous à la description donnée pour le conseiller en placement, le représentant des services bancaires aux particuliers, le conseiller financier, le représentant en épargne collective et l'agent d'assurance-vie.