Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Investment Analyst

Investment Analysts are employed throughout the financial services industry by investment management firms, insurance companies, investment fund companies, investment dealers and banks. This job is often a training ground for aspiring portfolio managers and requires strong analytical and communication skills. Investment Analysts can be specialized in either equity or fixed-income analysis. They are expected to prepare reports, coordinate information, analyze portfolio statistics and become familiar with fundamental analysis and the industry sectors they have been designated to cover.

On the job with an Investment Analyst

Quantitative skills because I am constantly analyzing and interpreting data and information. Being proficient in statistical analysis helps a lot. Having the CSC has helped and the CFA is an asset. More...

Manager, Investment Research & Analysis, FCSI, CIM, Manulife
  • Prepare presentations on research and recommendations for clients.
  • Assist in preparing of reports for regulators.
  • Prepare, analyze and present portfolio statistics.
  • Find, understand and summarize investment dealer research reports on different companies and industry sectors.

Investment Analysts generally have at least a university degree. They have also completed, or are expected to complete, specific industry courses such as the Canadian Securities Institute's Canadian Securities Course (CSC), Investment Management Techniques (IMT) and Portfolio Management Techniques (PMT) or the CFA Institutes's Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation program.

Completion of CSI's Technical Analysis Course (TAC) and Financial Risk Management Course can also contribute to future career advancement.

Investment Analysts are, in most cases, paid a fixed salary plus a bonus based on individual and firm performance. Salary is typically in the $45,000 to $50,000 range.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Analyste en placement

Les analystes en placement sont employés dans l'ensemble du secteur des services financiers, que ce soit par des firmes de gestion de placements, des compagnies d'assurance, des sociétés de fonds d'investissement, des courtiers en valeurs mobilières ou des banques. Ce poste sert souvent de terrain d'entraînement pour ceux qui aspirent à devenir gestionnaires de portefeuille. Il exige une solide capacité d'analyse et une très bonne aptitude à communiquer. Les analystes en placement peuvent se spécialiser dans l'analyse des actions ou des titres à revenu fixe. Leurs fonctions consistent à préparer des rapports, coordonner l'information, analyser les statistiques relatives aux portefeuilles et se familiariser avec l'analyse fondamentale et les secteurs industriels qui leur sont assignés.

  • Préparer des présentations sur la recherche réalisée et sur les recommandations faites aux clients.
  • Aider à la préparation des rapports exigés par les organismes de réglementation.
  • Préparer, analyser et présenter les statistiques relatives aux portefeuilles.
  • Rassembler, analyser et résumer les études financières réalisées par les maisons de courtage sur diverses sociétés et différents secteurs industriels.

Les analystes en placement détiennent en général un diplôme universitaire. Ils doivent aussi avoir suivi avec succès, ou être en voie de terminer, certains cours propres au secteur des services financiers, comme le Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada, le cours Techniques de gestion des placements et le cours Méthodes de gestion de portefeuille de CSI ou le programme menant au titre de Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) que décerne le CFA Institute (anciennement l'Association for Investment Management and Research).

La réussite au Cours d'analyse technique et au cours Gestion des risques - marchés financiers peut également contribuer à l'avancement professionnel de l'analyste en placement.

La plupart du temps, les analystes en placement touchent un salaire fixe, auquel s'ajoute une prime établie en fonction du rendement de l'employé et de la firme. Le salaire se situe généralement entre 45 000 $ et 50 000 $.