EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS

To qualify for the CIM®designation, candidates must meet the work experience requirements. The requirements to be met by all candidates are:

  • Two (2) years of relevant work experience must have been gained within the last 5 years.

  • Candidates may have gained the experience in either a retail or an institutional role or in a role that relates to, supports or adds value to the investment management process.

  • Work experience may be applied if it is gained outside of Canada and meets the requirements. CSI may request further documentation for confirmation purposes.

  • Managing personal investments or those of family or friends does not qualify for work experience.

While the above requirements must be met by all applicants, the assessment of experience will be applied based upon the candidate’s role as either (1) Investment and/or Financial Advisors and Portfolio Managers or (2) Professionals Supporting he Investment Management Process.

  1. Investment and/or Financial Advisors and Portfolio Managers

As it is unusual for a portfolio manager to be functioning in both a retail and an institutional role, the competencies specific to each role have been taken into account for the assessment of experience to earn the designation. As such:

      • The CIM work experience evaluation for advisors or portfolio managers will be assessed using the 11 competencies and 36 elements of sub-competency (as set out in the CIM®Professional Competency Profile) that consider both retail and institutional competence requirements.

      • The candidate for the CIM® must have performed a minimum of 22 of the sub-competencies included within the CIM® Competency Profile within the last 5 years.

Work experience must be verified and candidates are asked to provide the name of the verifying individual upon application for the CIM®. Individuals qualified to verify experience are current or recent employers or supervisors. Self-employed individuals are required to provide verification from a past-employer or an individual who holds a CIM® or CFA designation and is familiar with their work. CSI may request further documentation for confirmation purposes.

A verifier will be sent a copy of the CIM® Work Experience Assessment Tool directly from CSI to be used to assess the candidate’s experience.

  1. Experience Requirements for Professionals Supervising, Supporting or Teaching the Investment Management Process

Roles that relate to, support or add value to the investment management process are eligible to meet the CIM┬« work experience requirements. These roles are essential to the professionalism of portfolio managers and may be recognized if the role is full time. 

Examples of job titles that would typically qualify include but are not limited to: 

    • Investment Analyst
    • Corporate finance officer
    • Equity, fixed income or derivatives trader
    • Administration Officer (Back Office Support)
    • Compliance Officer
    • Supervisor
    • Professor

Relevant investment management experience may vary according to the level of specialization of the individual. It may include:

    • Securities research and analysis experience, demonstrating an ability in, and understanding of, portfolio analysis or portfolio security selection
    • Compliance or Supervision or Operational support of the investment management process
    • Providing expert analysis or evaluation in support of the investment management process
    • Client development as it relates to the investment management process; or
    • Teaching investment management. Managing personal investments or those of family or friends does not qualify for work experience.

Professionals supporting the investment management process, must submit details on their role and relevant experience with the application and may not use the automated CIM® on-line application form. Applications must be submitted using the fax number available on the application form or by mail. Work experience must be verified and candidates are asked to provide a letter from a verifier along with the name, e-mail and telephone number for the verifying individual within the application for the CIM®. Individuals qualified to verify experience are current or recent employers or supervisors. CSI may contact the verifier for audit purposes. Self-employed individuals are required to provide verification from a past-employer or an individual who holds a CIM® or CFA designation and is familiar with their work.

Note Regarding Regulatory Licensing Requirements

The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) and the provincial securities commissions have experience requirements to be met prior to registration in a portfolio management capacity. Candidates who hold the CIM® designation will be subject to the experience requirements of these regulators prior to registration. These experience requirements may differ from the CIM® experience requirements. For further information on the experience requirements for registration please refer to the appropriate regulator's website.

• Post Secondary Institute Micro Site
  • Post Secondary Institute Micro Site

EXIGENCES RELATIVES À L'EXPÉRIENCE

Pour être admissible au titre de CIMMD, le candidat doit répondre aux exigences relatives à l’expérience professionnelle. Ces exigences sont énoncées ci-dessous pour : (1) le conseiller et le gestionnaire de portefeuille; (2) le professionnel contribuant au processus de gestion de placements.

  1. Exigences relatives à l’expérience applicables au conseiller et au gestionnaire de portefeuille
    • Pour obtenir le titre de CIMMD, le candidat doit détenir au moins deux années d’expérience.
      • Il doit avoir accumulé ces deux années d’expérience pertinente au cours des cinq dernières années.
      • Le candidat peut avoir acquis son expérience à titre de gestionnaire de portefeuille de détail ou de gestionnaire de portefeuille institutionnel.
      • L’expérience professionnelle acquise à l’extérieur du Canada est admissible si elle répond aux exigences applicables. CSI peut exiger la soumission d’autres documents aux fins de confirmation.
      • La gestion de placements pour son propre compte, des membres de sa famille ou des amis n’est pas admissible à titre d’expérience professionnelle.
    • Comme il est inhabituel pour un gestionnaire de portefeuille d’exercer ses activités à la fois dans les marchés de détail et institutionnel, les compétences propres à chaque rôle ont été prises en compte en vue de l’évaluation de l’expérience nécessaire à l’obtention du titre.
      • L’évaluation de l’expérience professionnelle du CIMMD repose sur les 11 compétences et les 36 sous-compétences énoncées dans le profil des compétences professionnelles du CIMMD, lesquelles tiennent compte des exigences applicables aux gestionnaires de portefeuille de détail et institutionnels.
      • Le candidat au titre de CIMMD doit avoir démontré 22 des sous-compétences énoncées dans le profil des compétences professionnelles du CIMMD au cours des 5 dernières années.
    • L'expérience professionnelle du candidat fait l’objet de vérifications. Lorsqu’il soumet sa demande, le candidat au titre de CIMMD doit indiquer le nom d’une personne qui confirmera son expérience professionnelle. Cette personne devrait être un employeur ou un supérieur actuel ou récent. L’expérience professionnelle d’un travailleur autonome doit être confirmée par un ancien employeur, ou une personne détenant le titre de CIMMD ou de CFA et pouvant attester ses activités. CSI peut exiger la soumission d’autres documents aux fins de confirmation.
    • CSI expédiera l’outil d’évaluation de l’expérience du CIMMD directement à la personne désignée afin qu’elle évalue l’expérience du candidat.
  2. Exigences relatives à l’expérience applicables au professionnel contribuant au processus de gestion de placements
    • Le professionnel qui soutient, facilite ou améliore le processus de gestion de placements peut répondre aux exigences relatives à l’expérience professionnelle. Le professionnalisme du gestionnaire de portefeuille est tributaire de ces fonctions, qui peuvent être reconnues lorsque leur titulaire les occupe à temps plein.

      Les emplois admissibles comprennent, sans s’y limiter, ceux qui suivent :
      • Analyste en placements
      • Agent financier
      • Négociateur d’actions, de titres à revenu fixe et de dérivés
      • Agent d’administration (service de post-marché)
      • Agent de conformité
      • Superviseur
      • Professeur


      L’expérience professionnelle acquise à l’extérieur du Canada est admissible si elle répond aux exigences applicables. CSI peut exiger la soumission d’autres documents aux fins de confirmation.
      L’expérience pertinente en gestion de placements peut varier selon le niveau de spécialisation du candidat. Elle peut comprendre ce qui suit :

      • expérience en recherche et en analyse de valeurs mobilières, dont une capacité démontrée à analyser un portefeuille ou à sélectionner les titres d’un portefeuille, accompagnée d’une bonne compréhension de cette tâche;
      • conformité, surveillance ou soutien opérationnel du processus de gestion de placements;
      • fourniture d’analyses ou d’évaluations d’expert soutenant le processus de gestion de placements;
      • développement de clientèle dans le contexte du processus de gestion de placements;
      • enseignement de la gestion de placements.


      La gestion de placements pour son propre compte, des membres de sa famille ou des amis n’est pas admissible à titre d’expérience professionnelle.

      La candidature d’un professionnel contribuant au processus de gestion de placements doit comprendre des renseignements détaillés sur ses fonctions et son expérience pertinente. Il ne peut utiliser le formulaire électronique de demande d’obtention du titre de CIMMD à cette fin. Le professionnel doit plutôt transmettre sa demande par télécopieur, au numéro indiqué sur le formulaire, ou par la poste. L’expérience professionnelle du candidat fait l’objet de vérifications. Le candidat doit fournir la lettre d’une personne qui confirmera son expérience professionnelle. Il doit indiquer son nom, son adresse de courriel et son numéro de téléphone dans la demande d’obtention du titre de CIMMD. Cette personne devrait être un employeur ou un supérieur actuel ou récent. CSI peut communiquer avec elle aux fins de vérification. L’expérience professionnelle d’un travailleur autonome doit être confirmée par un ancien employeur, ou une personne détenant le titre de CIMMD ou de CFA et pouvant attester ses activités.

Remarque concernant les exigences réglementaires applicables à l’inscription

L’ Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM) et les commissions des valeurs mobilières provinciales ont établi des exigences relatives à l’expérience auxquelles le candidat doit satisfaire afin de pouvoir s’inscrire à titre de gestionnaire de portefeuille. Le candidat qui détient le titre de CIMMD devra répondre à ces exigences aux fins d’inscription. Ces exigences peuvent différer de celles qui s’appliquent au détenteur du CIMMD. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences relatives à l’expérience, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’autorité de réglementation applicable.