WHAT ARE THE MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS?

To represent yourself an as active CIWM in good standing - and to uphold the prestige of your letters - you must renew your designation annually.

All CIWMs must renew their designation by their anniversary date (the date the designation was originally granted). You will receive email reminders 4 weeks and 1 week prior to your renewal deadline.

YOU MUST MEET THE FOLLOWING MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS:

  • Continuing Education
    • The world we work and live in is constantly evolving. As a financial advisor it's critical that you commit to lifelong learning and have a handle on the trends and issues that affect your industry - and, most importantly, your clients.
    • CE content must fall within the CIWM Professional Competency Profile and knowledge associated with the CIWM designation. Examples of knowledge areas are:
      • 9 hours of professional development CE credits
      • 3 hours of compliance-related CE credits
      • CE Tools & Resources
  • Code of Ethics
  • Trademark
  • Licence
    • CIWMs are required to pay a non-refundable license fee of $325 each year.

 

Tools and Resources

Qualifying Activity Providers

Courses can be taken from CSI or other external providers (e.g., community colleges, universities, other professional education providers or in-house at your employer).

Activity & Hours Tracking

Make sure you retain supporting documents to confirm completion of CE credits. Each year a percentage of CIWMs will be audited to verify the CE hours claimed on their designation renewal applications.

IF YOU DO NOT RENEW

Designation holders who do not renew will be deemed to be "not in good standing." You will receive a letter stating that you are no longer eligible to use the CIWM trademarks. If you continue to use the trademarks, then legal action may be taken.
You will also be removed from CSI's Canadian CIWM Directory and AIWM's global CIWM directory.

WHAT IS THE REINSTATEMENT POLICY?

CIWMs are given the opportunity to reactivate their license after a lapse of up to 5 years. If your designation has lapsed for more than 5 years, you'll be required to re-take and successfully complete CIWM Certification Examination as the SW360 is no longer available. If the lapse is 5 years or less, you can reactivate by completing the following steps:

As of January 1, 2018, if you have not renewed within 12 months of your license renewal date, you will be required to pay a late fee of $50, a reinstatement fee of $325 and the standard annual renewal fee of $325. You will also be asked to prove completion of your CE requirements for all the years of non-renewal. This will require you to submit transcripts showing course completion dates as well as course outlines.

EXIGENCES RELATIVES À LA CONSERVATION DU TITRE

Pour vous présenter comme un CIWM actif en règle et conserver le prestige associé à ce titre, vous devez renouveler votre titre chaque année.

Tous les détenteurs du titre de CIWM doivent renouveler leur titre avant leur date d’anniversaire (la date à laquelle le titre leur a été octroyé initialement). Vous recevrez des avis par courriel pour vous rappeler de renouveler votre titre quatre semaines et une semaine avant la date limite de renouvellement.

VOUS DEVEZ RÉPONDRE AUX EXIGENCES SUIVANTES RELATIVES À LA CONSERVATION DU TITRE :

  • Formation continue
    • Le monde dans lequel nous vivons est en constante évolution. À titre de conseiller financier, vous devez démontrer votre engagement à l’égard de la formation continue, afin de comprendre les tendances et les enjeux qui ont une incidence sur votre secteur et, surtout, vos clients.
    • Le contenu de la formation continue doit correspondre au profil des compétences professionnelles du CIWM et aux connaissances associées au titre de CIWM. Voici des exemples de ces domaines de connaissance :
      • Crédits de formation continue liée au perfectionnement professionnel (9 heures).
      • Crédits de formation continue liée à la conformité (3 heures).
      • Outils et ressources de formation continue
  • Code de déontologie
    • Les détenteurs du titre de CIWMMD doivent renouveler chaque année l’engagement de respecter le code de déontologie des CIWMMD.
  • Marque de commerce
  • Licence
    • Les détenteurs du titre de CIWM sont tenus de payer des droits de licence non remboursables de 325 $ chaque année.

 

Outils et ressources

Prestataires d’activités admissibles

Les cours peuvent être suivis auprès de CSI ou d’autres prestataires (p. ex. un collège, une université, un autre établissement d’enseignement professionnel ou un employeur).

Suivi des activités et des heures

Assurez-vous de conserver des pièces justificatives pour confirmer l’obtention des crédits de formation continue. Chaque année, un pourcentage des détenteurs du titre de CIWM font l’objet de vérifications pour confirmer le nombre d’heures de formation continue indiqué dans leur demande de renouvellement.

POLITIQUE DE RÉINTÉGRATION

Les personnes qui ont déjà détenu le titre de CIWM disposent d’un délai de cinq ans pour réactiver leur licence. Si votre titre est échu depuis plus de cinq ans, vous serez tenu(e) de suivre et réussir de nouveau l’Examen de certification du CIWM, car l’examen de Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360 n’est plus offert. Si la période écoulée est de cinq ans ou moins, vous pourrez réactiver votre licence en suivant ces étapes :

Depuis le 1er janvier 2018, si vous n’avez pas renouvelé votre titre dans les 12 mois suivant la date prescrite, vous devrez assumer des frais de retard de 50 $, des frais de réintégration de 325 $ et des frais de renouvellement annuel de 325 $. Vous devrez également prouver que vous avez répondu aux exigences relatives à la formation continue, et ce, pour toutes les années pendant lesquelles vous n’avez pas renouvelé votre titre. Pour ce faire, vous serez tenu(e) de produire les relevés indiquant la date de réussite des cours de même que les plans de cours.