Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Moody's Commercial Lending (CLCA)

 

Upon completion of the Commercial Lending course, learners will gain a deeper understanding of businesses and their borrowing needs, evaluate risks, and make good credit decisions.

Topics covered in the course include:

  • Financial Risk Assessment
    • Credit Analysis Foundation
    • Accounting Issues for Lenders
    • Businesses and Their Borrowing Needs
    • Profitability Ratios
    • Activity Ratios
    • Capital Spending, Leveraging, and Debt Coverage
    • Cash Flow Analysis
    • Projections and Credit Risk Assessment
  • Market Risk Assessment
    • Credit Analysis Foundations
    • Business Environment
    • Industry Status
    • Competition
    • Company Vulnerability
  • Management Risk Assessment
    • Credit Analysis Foundations
    • Management Integrity and Scope
    • Management Skill and Execution
    • Management Scope
  • Mitigating Risk Assessment
    • Credit Enhancements and Profitability
    • Projections and Credit Risk Assessment
Approximate Hours of Study**
Hours of Study 30 - 35 hours

** Please note that these are only recommended hours of study developed based on research and our course content, however, this does not mean that some students with exceptional backgrounds would not take less time than recommended or that students with no background at all in finance or economics would not take longer than the maximum.

How you'll learn

The course is taught online and is composed of 19 modules representing the topics of study. Each module consists of:

  • A diagnostic test to help you identify areas where you should focus your studies
  • 2 to 4 lessons, each estimated to take 20 to 30 minutes. Each lesson ends with a quiz to help reinforce the concepts reviewed in the lesson.
  • An end of module online exam, to test your mastery of the principles in the module

Simulation exercise: The simulation assesses the lenders ability to apply what they'd learned by working through a real business lending scenario. You are required to gather data, analyze credit risk and recommend a loan decision and structure, and then compare your decisions and recommendations with those of an expert.

ONLINE TEST ASSESSMENTS

At the end of each module you will be required to complete the "module exam" to test your mastery of the principles in the module. Students must score at least 70% on all 19 tests in order to show the course as successfully completed to earn a passing grade.
TEST FORMAT
Number of Module Exams 19
Test Format Online
Test Length Varies - 15 minutes to 27 minutes
Question Format Multiple Choice and True/False
Questions Per Test Varies
Attempts Allowed Per Test 2
Passing Grade 70%
ENROLMENT PERIOD  
Enrolment Period 1 year

 

About the Exam

The CLCA exam is completely online and accessible through your online course. Advance booking is not required.

*There is no charge for your first attempt at a paper-based exam within Canada, as long as it's at a regular exam center and you provide a minimum of 14 days notice before the date that you want to write the exam. If you would like to write a computer-based exam, an additional $75 fee will be required.

Each subsequent paper-based exam attempt at a regular exam centre within Canada cost $250 plus tax. This fee is in addition to any special, computer-based or international fees that may apply. You must provide a minimum of 14 days notice within Canada at a regular exam centre and 4 weeks notice for all other centres. Please note that the date of the exam is not part of any notice period.

†Please note: Access to your online materials will close 2 weeks after successful course completion or course expiry (whichever comes first). This course can be extended by 1 year provided you have not exceeded the attempts allowed for each exam. You can view CSI extension fees here. Your enrolment period can only be extended one time.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

For details on the organizations and other information on CE Credits listed in the above charts, please click here.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Crédit commercial

 

À la fin du cours intitulé « Crédit commercial », les étudiants auront approfondi leur connaissance des entreprises et de leurs besoins en matière de crédit; ils pourront évaluer les risques et prendre de bonnes décisions de crédit. Voici les sujets abordés dans ce cours :

Évaluation des risques financiers

  • La base de l'analyse de crédit
  • Les problèmes de comptabilité des prêteurs
  • Les entreprises et leurs besoins d'emprunt
  • Les ratios de rentabilité
  • Les ratios d'activité
  • Les dépenses en capital, le recours au levier financier et la couverture de la dette
  • L'analyse du flux d'encaisse
  • Les projections et l'évaluation du risque de crédit

Évaluation du risque de marché

  • Les bases de l'analyse de crédit
  • Le contexte commercial
  • La situation du secteur
  • La concurrence
  • La vulnérabilité de l'entreprise

Évaluation du risque de gestion

  • Les bases de l'analyse de crédit
  • L'intégrité de la gestion
  • Les compétences en matière de gestion et l'exécution de celle-ci
  • La portée de la gestion

Évaluation de l'atténuation des risques

  • Le rehaussement du crédit et la rentabilité
  • Les projections et l'évaluation du risque de crédit
Heures d'étude approximatives**
Heures d'étude 30 à 35 heures

** Afin de guider les étudiants sur les heures d'études nécessaires pour se préparer à passer l'examen final, CSI a établi cette estimation du nombre d'heures que l'étudiant moyen pourrait s'attendre à consacrer à l'étude dans le cadre d'un cours. Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit que du nombre d'heures d'étude recommandé, qui a été établi en fonction de la recherche effectuée et du contenu de nos cours; cependant, cela ne signifie pas que certains étudiants aux antécédents exceptionnels n'auraient pas besoin de moins de temps que le nombre d'heures recommandé, ou que des étudiants ne possédant aucune formation en finances ou en économie n'auraient pas besoin de plus d'heures d'étude que le maximum recommandé.

Méthode d'apprentissage

Ce cours est offert en ligne et comporte 19 modules représentant les sujets traités. Chaque module est composé de ce qui suit :

  • Un test diagnostique permettant de cerner les points sur lesquels vous devriez concentrer vos études.
  • De 2 à 4 leçons, chacune d'une durée de 20 à 30 minutes. Chaque leçon se termine par un test destiné à renforcer les concepts abordés.
  • Un examen en ligne à la fin du module, afin de vérifier votre maîtrise des principes étudiés dans le module.

Exercice de simulation : la simulation permet d'évaluer la capacité du prêteur à appliquer ce qu'il a appris à un scénario de prêt à une vraie entreprise. Vous devez réunir des données, analyser le risque de crédit et recommander une décision et une structure de prêt, puis comparer vos décisions et recommandations avec celles d'un expert.

ÉVALUATION EN LIGNE
À la fin de chaque module, vous devrez passer « l'examen sur le module » afin de vérifier votre maîtrise des principes abordés dans le module. Les étudiants doivent obtenir au moins 70 % aux 19 tests pour atteindre la note de passage et réussir le cours. 
Nombre d'examen sur le module 19
Formule En ligne
Durée Variable – De 15 minutes à 27 minutes
Présentation des questions Choix multiples et Vrai ou Faux
Nombre de questions par évaluation Variable
Nombre d'essais autorisés par évaluation 2
Note de passage 70 %
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION
Période d'inscription 1 an

*Vous n'avez rien à débourser la première fois que vous vous inscrivez à un examen sur papier au Canada, dans la mesure où l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard et où vous vous inscrivez au moins 14 jours à l'avance. Si vous préférez passer votre examen sur ordinateur, des frais supplémentaires de 50 $ s'appliqueront.

Si vous vous inscrivez pour la deuxième ou la troisième fois à un examen sur papier dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada, des frais de reprise de 190 $ s'appliqueront, taxes en sus. Ces frais s'ajoutent à tout supplément exigé pour passer un examen à l'ordinateur ou à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devez vous inscrire au moins 14 jours à l'avance si l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada et au moins quatre semaines à l'avance s'il a lieu ailleurs. Remarque : Le jour de l'examen n'est pas inclus dans les périodes d'avis.

† Veuillez noter que l’accès à votre matériel de cours en ligne prendra fin 2 semaines après la réussite de votre cours ou à la date d’expiration (selon la première éventualité). Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, en autant que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

Crédits de formation continue

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ou les boutons situés à droite pour accéder à l’information relative à la formation continue. Pour faire une recherche sur un cours précis, appuyez sur Ctrl+F puis indiquez le titre du cours afin de trouver l’information qui vous intéresse.

National/provincial (Québec non compris)
Télécharger le tableau de FC (PDF, 163 kb)

Québec (IQPF/CSF)
Télécharger le tableau IQPF/CSF (PDF, 182 kb)

Note: Bien que CSI fait le maximum pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de ces données, il ne peut s’en porter garant. L’information présentée dans les tableaux ci-dessus peut être sujet à modifications.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les associations et autres informations sur les crédits de FC présentées dans les tableaux ci-dessus.

Faites-nous part de vos commentaires pour nous aider à améliorer notre site Web.

Répondre au sondage