Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Fundamentals of Financial Planning

 

Learn About:

  • Understanding and responding to clients
  • Regulatory trends, and investment suitability
  • Undertaking budget, savings, and debt planning
  • Personal risk management
  • Family Law, dealing with separation and child custody
  • Tax planning, tax effective investments, tax minimization strategies, and registered plans
  • Retirement planning, annuity based financial products and estate planning

How You'll learn

This course is taught online and includes a PDF textbook, Word documents and web links.

Approximate Hours of Study**
Hours of Study 60

** In order to provide some guidance to course participants as to the length of time it will take to be sufficiently prepared to write the final examination, CSI has prepared this estimate of the number of hours an average participant could possibly expect to spend studying for a course. Please note that these are only recommended hours of study developed based on research and our course content, however, this does not mean that some students with exceptional backgrounds would not take less time than recommended or that students with no background at all in finance or economics would not take longer than the maximum.

This exam includes 60 multiple-choice questions and is focused on all learning domains. Students will be examined on all chapters of the FOFP textbook, including the Appendix on Financial Math, as well as Chapters 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 20, 21 and 22 from the KPMG Tax Planning Guide.

EXAM STRUCTURE
(weightings are approximate)
Wealth Management Today and Ethics 8%
Understanding the Client, Cash Flow and Loans and Mortgages 15%
Personal Risk Management 10%

Family Law and Tax Planning

22%

Registered Plans, Retirement Planning and Annuity Based Financial Products

32%

Estate Planning

13%
Total 100%
EXAM FORMAT
Number of Exams 1
Exam Format Paper Based
Exam Length 1.5 Hours
Question Format Multiple Choice
Questions Per Exam 60
Attempts Allowed Per Exam 3
Passing Grade 60%
ENROLMENT PERIOD
Enrolment Period 1 year

*There is no charge for your first attempt at a paper-based exam within Canada, as long as it's at a regular exam center and you provide a minimum of 14 days notice before the date that you want to write the exam. If you would like to write a computer-based exam, an additional fee will be required.

Each subsequent paper-based exam attempt at a regular exam centre within Canada will also require an additional fee. This fee is in addition to any special, computer-based or international fees that may apply. You must provide a minimum of 14 days notice within Canada at a regular exam centre and 4 weeks notice for all other centres. Please note that the date of the exam is not part of any notice period.

†Please note: Access to your online materials will close 2 weeks after successful course completion or course expiry (whichever comes first). This course can be extended by 1 year provided you have not exceeded the attempts allowed for each exam. You can view CSI extension fees here. Your enrolment period can only be extended one time.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

For details on the organizations and other information on CE Credits listed in the above charts, please click here.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Concepts fondamentaux de planification financière

 

Contenu du cours :

  • La compréhension des clients et la satisfaction de leurs besoins
  • Les tendances réglementaires et convenance des placements
  • La planification d'un budget, de l'épargne et des dettes
  • La gestion du risque personnel
  • Le droit de la famille, la séparation et la garde des enfants
  • La planification fiscale, placements efficients du point de vue fiscal,  stratégie de réduction d'impôt et régimes enregistrés
  • La planification de la retraite, les produits financiers axés sur des rentes et la planification successorale

Méthode d'apprentissage

Ce cours est offert en ligne et comporte un manuel en format PDF, des documents en format Word et des liens Internet.

Heures d'étude approximatives**
Heures d'étude 60 heures

** Afin de guider les étudiants sur les heures d'études nécessaires pour se préparer à passer l'examen final, CSI a établi cette estimation du nombre d'heures que l'étudiant moyen pourrait s'attendre à consacrer à l'étude dans le cadre d'un cours. Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit que du nombre d'heures d'étude recommandé, qui a été établi en fonction de la recherche effectuée et du contenu de nos cours; cependant, cela ne signifie pas que certains étudiants aux antécédents exceptionnels n'auraient pas besoin de moins de temps que le nombre d'heures recommandé, ou que des étudiants ne possédant aucune formation en finances ou en économie n'auraient pas besoin de plus d'heures d'étude que le maximum recommandé.

Cet examen comporte 60 questions à choix multiples et porte sur tous les domaines d’apprentissage. L’examen portera sur tous les chapitres du manuel CFPF, incluant l’annexe sur les mathématiques financières, ainsi que les chapitres 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 20, 21 et 22 de la publication KPMG.

STRUCTURE DE L'EXAMEN
(la pondération est approximative)
La gestion de patrimoine aujourd'hui et Éthique 8 %
Comprendre son client, Flux de trésorerie et Les emprunts et les prêts hypothécaires 15 %
Gestion du risque personnel 10 %
Droit de la famille et Planification fiscale 22 %
Plans et planification de la retraite et Produits financiers axés sur des rentes 32 %
Planification successorale 13 %
Total 100 %
FORMULE DES EXAMENS
Examens 1
Formule Papier
Durée 1.5 heures
Présentation des questions Choix multiples
Nombre de questions par examen 60
Nombre d'essais autorisés par examen 3*
Note de passage 60 %
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION
Période d'inscription 1 an

Politiques relatives aux examens et à l'inscription

*Vous n'avez rien à débourser la première fois que vous vous inscrivez à un examen sur papier au Canada, dans la mesure où l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard et où vous vous inscrivez au moins 14 jours à l'avance. Si vous préférez passer votre examen sur ordinateur, des frais supplémentaires s'appliqueront.

Si vous vous inscrivez pour la deuxième ou la troisième fois à un examen sur papier dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada, des frais de reprise s'appliqueront, taxes en sus. Ces frais s'ajoutent à tout supplément exigé pour passer un examen à l'ordinateur ou à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devez vous inscrire au moins 14 jours à l'avance si l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada et au moins quatre semaines à l'avance s'il a lieu ailleurs. Remarque : Le jour de l'examen n'est pas inclus dans les périodes d'avis.

† Veuillez noter que l’accès à votre matériel de cours en ligne prendra fin 2 semaines après la réussite de votre cours ou à la date d’expiration (selon la première éventualité). Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, en autant que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

Crédits de formation continue

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ou les boutons situés à droite pour accéder à l’information relative à la formation continue. Pour faire une recherche sur un cours précis, appuyez sur Ctrl+F puis indiquez le titre du cours afin de trouver l’information qui vous intéresse.

National/provincial (Québec non compris)
Télécharger le tableau de FC (PDF, 163 kb)

Québec (IQPF/CSF)
Télécharger le tableau IQPF/CSF (PDF, 182 kb)

Note: Bien que CSI fait le maximum pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de ces données, il ne peut s’en porter garant. L’information présentée dans les tableaux ci-dessus peut être sujet à modifications.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les associations et autres informations sur les crédits de FC présentées dans les tableaux ci-dessus.