Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Financial Planning II

 

You will learn how to:

  • Explain the importance of the six steps in the financial planning process to clients
  • Identify clients financial goals and constraints to develop and customize their financial plan
  • Develop a savings plan emphasizing the importance of outlining net worth, cash flow, and saving strategies
  • Analyze legal considerations related to property ownership
  • Demonstrate the importance of asset allocation and risk management when recommending investment solutions for clients
  • Estimate retirement income needs and determine if those needs can be met with the clients available resources
  • Explain the benefits estate planning techniques to individuals, families and small business owners.
  • Explain the potential impact of life events, such as divorce (Family Law) on the estate planning process
  • Develop a financial planning strategy to meet the clients’ needs and objectives

Learning Experience

CSI’s online learning system helps you meet your study goals. You'll benefit from:

  • Interactive resources as well as textbook materials in PDF format.
  • Online activities including standalone review questions to help you reinforce your learning and identify topics that may need to be revisited during exam preparation.
  • A comprehensive financial planning activity that walks you through the step by step process of preparing and presenting a financial plan.
  • Course updates to ensure you’re learning the most current and up-to-date practical material in your studies.
  • Online assistance from CSI's academic support specialists.
Approximate Hours of Study**
Hours of Study 110 - 150 hours

** In order to provide some guidance to course participants as to the length of time it will take to be sufficiently prepared to write the final examination, CSI has prepared this estimate of the number of hours an average participant could possibly expect to spend studying for a course. Please note that these are only recommended hours of study developed based on research and our course content, however, this does not mean that some students with exceptional backgrounds would not take less time than recommended or that students with no background at all in finance or economics would not take longer than the maximum.  It is important to have a thorough understanding of all of the concepts and mathematical calculations contained in the text prior to attempting the final exam.

EXAM WEIGHTINGS
(weightings are approximate)
Financial Planning Practice 10%
Savings Planning & Debt Management 10%
Investment and Tax Planning 10%
Insurance Planning 10%
Retirement Planning 20%
Estate Planning 10%
Family Law 15%
Financial Planning for Small Business 15%
EXAM INFORMATION
Exams 1
Exam Format Paper Based or Computer Based
Exam Duration 3 Hours
Question Format Multiple Choice
Questions Per Exam 60
Attempts Allowed Per Exam 3*
Passing Grade 60%
Assignments None
ENROLMENT PERIOD
Enrolment Period 1 year†

*There is no charge for your first attempt at a paper-based exam within Canada, as long as it's at a regular exam center and you provide a minimum of 14 days notice before the date that you want to write the exam. If you would like to write a computer-based exam, an additional fee will be required.

Each subsequent paper-based exam attempt at a regular exam centre within Canada will also require an additional fee. This fee is in addition to any special, computer-based or international fees that may apply. You must provide a minimum of 14 days notice within Canada at a regular exam centre and 4 weeks notice for all other centres. Please note that the date of the exam is not part of any notice period.

†Please note: Access to your online materials will close 2 weeks after successful course completion or course expiry (whichever comes first). This course can be extended by 1 year provided you have not exceeded the attempts allowed for each exam. Extension fees apply. Your enrolment period can only be extended one time.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period. Please note that a certificate will not be issued upon completion of this course.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

More detailed information on CE Credits are available.

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Planification financière II

 

Vous apprendrez à faire ce qui suit :

  • expliquer aux clients l’importance des six étapes du processus de planification financière;
  • établir les objectifs financiers et les contraintes des clients en vue de dresser et de personnaliser leur plan financier;
  • élaborer un programme d'épargne exposant l’importance des stratégies liées à la valeur nette, aux flux de trésorerie et à l'épargne;
  • analyser les considérations juridiques liées à la propriété de biens;
  • démontrer l’importance de la répartition des actifs et de la gestion des risques lors de la recommandation de solutions de placement aux clients;
  • estimer le revenu de retraite requis et déterminer si les ressources dont les clients disposent permettent de l’obtenir;
  • expliquer les avantages des techniques de planification successorale aux particuliers, aux familles et aux propriétaires de petite entreprise;
  • expliquer l’incidence potentielle des événements de la vie tels que le divorce (droit de la famille) sur le processus de planification successorale;
  • élaborer une stratégie de planification financière pour répondre aux besoins et aux objectifs des clients.

Expérience d’apprentissage

Le système d'apprentissage en ligne de CSI vous aide à atteindre vos objectifs d’étude. Vous bénéficierez de ce qui suit :

  • des ressources interactives ainsi que des manuels en format PDF;
  • des activités en ligne, dont des questions de révision individuelles qui vous aideront à renforcer votre apprentissage et à déterminer les sujets à passer en revue pendant votre préparation à l’examen;
  • une activité de planification financière exhaustive qui vous fera passer par toutes les étapes de la préparation et de la présentation d’un plan financier;
  • des mises à jour du cours qui vous assureront d’étudier le contenu pratique le plus à jour;
  • de l’assistance en ligne offerte par les spécialistes du soutien pédagogique de CSI.
Heures d'étude approximatives**
Heures d'étude 110 à 150 heures

** Afin de guider les étudiants sur les heures d'études nécessaires pour se préparer à passer l'examen final, CSI a établi cette estimation du nombre d'heures que l'étudiant moyen pourrait s'attendre à consacrer à l'étude dans le cadre d'un cours. Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit que du nombre d'heures d'étude recommandé, qui a été établi en fonction de la recherche effectuée et du contenu de nos cours; cependant, cela ne signifie pas que certains étudiants aux antécédents exceptionnels n'auraient pas besoin de moins de temps que le nombre d'heures recommandé, ou que des étudiants ne possédant aucune formation en finances ou en économie n'auraient pas besoin de plus d'heures d'étude que le maximum recommandé. Il est important de comprendre à fond tous les concepts et les calculs mathématiques présentés dans le cours avant de vous présenter à l’examen final.

STRUCTURE DE L'EXAMEN
(la pondération est approximative)
Pratique de la planification financière 10%
Planification de l'épargne et gestion de la dette 10%
Planification des placements et planification fiscale 10%
Planification de l'assurance 10%
Planification de la retraite 20%
Planification successorale 10%
Droit de la famille 15%
Planification fiscale pour les petites entreprises 15%
FORMULE DE L'EXAMEN
Examens 1
Formule Papier ou ordinateur
Durée 3 heures
Présentation des questions Choix multiples
Nombre de questions par examen 60
Nombre d'essais autorisés par examen 3*
Note de passage 60%
Travaux pratiques Aucun
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION
Période d'inscription 1 an

*Vous n'avez rien à débourser la première fois que vous vous inscrivez à un examen sur papier au Canada, dans la mesure où l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard et où vous vous inscrivez au moins 14 jours à l'avance. Si vous préférez passer votre examen sur ordinateur, des frais supplémentaires s'appliqueront.

Si vous vous inscrivez pour la deuxième ou la troisième fois à un examen sur papier dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada, des frais de reprise s'appliqueront, taxes en sus. Ces frais s'ajoutent à tout supplément exigé pour passer un examen à l'ordinateur ou à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devez vous inscrire au moins 14 jours à l'avance si l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada et au moins quatre semaines à l'avance s'il a lieu ailleurs. Remarque : Le jour de l'examen n'est pas inclus dans les périodes d'avis.

† Veuillez noter que l’accès à votre matériel de cours en ligne prendra fin 2 semaines après la réussite de votre cours ou à la date d’expiration (selon la première éventualité). Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, en autant que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

Crédits de formation continue

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ou les boutons situés à droite pour accéder à l’information relative à la formation continue. Pour faire une recherche sur un cours précis, appuyez sur Ctrl+F puis indiquez le titre du cours afin de trouver l’information qui vous intéresse.

National/provincial (Québec non compris)
Télécharger le tableau de FC (PDF, 163 Ko)

Québec (IQPF/CSF)
Télécharger le tableau IQPF/CSF (PDF, 182 Ko)

Note : Bien que CSI fasse le maximum pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de ces données, il ne peut s’en porter garant. L’information présentée dans les tableaux ci-dessus peut faire l’objet de modifications.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les associations et autres informations sur les crédits de FC présentées dans les tableaux ci-dessus.