Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module – Common Law and Civil Code

(Prerequisite course to qualify to write the provincial licensing examination)

IMPORTANT

Please make certain to enroll in the course that reflects the licensing requirements of the province(s) or territories where you will be selling insurance.

Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module  

Prerequisite top-up module to qualify to write the provincial licensing examination if already licensed and seeking to expand services into Quebec (or if licensed in Quebec to another province).

Expand Your Ethics and Professional Practice Knowledge

The Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice module covers the curriculum prescribed by the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators in a comprehensive yet concise manner. You'll gain a comprehensive knowledge of ethic and professional practice issues within the insurance industry.
This top-up module has an online examination.  It has been designed to reflect the content and examination requirements set out within the provincial regulators’ curriculum document.

Note : The provincial examination will be an open book format and all candidates will be provided with an electronic copy of the module at the exam centre.   

Learn about:

  • Legal framework governing insurance
  • Insurance policy provisions
  • Claims and payments of proceeds
  • Rules and principles governing insurance agents
  • Insurance ethics and professional practice considerations

What's included in the Ethics and Professional Practice Module:

  • An electronic textbook consisting of  Ethics & Professional Practice  (one module for Common Law or one module for Civil Code depending on your enrolment)
  • Extensive online learning activities such as client scenarios, practice exercises and quizzes
  • Access to assistance from CSI's academic support specialists

 

Note:  All students are required to register on the regulator’s national registry (CIPR) upon enrolment into this course. You will not be able to access course material until your CIPR registration has been completed.

Step by step instructions can be found on our learning platform once you have registered for the course.  Once you complete all required steps, CSI will be notified that you have successfully registered into CIPR,  we will then release your course material. Please note materials will be released the same or next business day.

Once you successfully complete all required modules, CSI will update CIPR, showing your eligibility to challenge the provincial exam. CIPR will be updated the next business day after your successful completion of all required modules.  We suggest you do not register for your provincial exam until this has been completed.
Approximate Hours of Study**
Hours of Study 30 - 40 hours

** In order to provide some guidance to course participants as to the length of time it will take to be sufficiently prepared to write the examinations, CSI has prepared this estimate of the number of hours an average participants could possibly expect to spend studying for a course. Please note that these are only recommended hours of study developed based on research and course content, however, this does not mean that some students with exceptional backgrounds would not take less time than recommended or that students with no background at all in finance would not take longer than the maximum.

COURSE ASSESSMENT

This module corresponds with the provincial licensing examination requirements. (Please make certain to enroll in the module that reflects the licensing requirements of the province(s) or territories where you will be employed.)

You need a minimum score of 60% to pass exam (there are no assignments). If necessary, you have up to three attempts at the exam.

Successful completion of the Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module entitles you to write the provincial top-up  exam in order to obtain a life insurance license and/or accident and sickness license in Quebec, or if you are licensed in Quebec, in another province.

You have up to one year after successfully completing the CSI exam to sit for the corresponding provincial licensing exam. However, it is recommended that you sit for the corresponding licensing exam soon after successful completion of the course, as your knowledge and understanding of the subject matter will be fresh and current.

EXAM WEIGHTINGS

Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module – Common Law
EXAM WEIGHTINGS
Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module – Common Law
(weightings are approximate)
Ethics and Professional Practice  Module (For All Provinces & Territories except Quebec)
Integrate into practice the legal aspects of insurance and annuity contracts 60%
Integrate into practice the rules governing the activities of life insurance agents 40%
Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module – Civil Code
EXAM WEIGHTINGS
(Insurance Ethics and Professional Practice Module)
(weightings are approximate)
Ethics and Professional Practice Module (Quebec only)
Understand the legal framework governing insurance of persons 20%
Integrate into practice the legal aspects of insurance and annuity contracts 40%
Integrate into practice the rules governing the activities of representatives in insurance of persons 40%
EXAM INFORMATION  
Exam 1
Exam Format On-line
Exam Duration

60 minutes

Question Format Multiple Choice
Questions Per Exam 30
Attempts Allowed Per Exam 3
Passing Grade 60%
Assignments None
ENROLMENT PERIOD  
Enrolment Period 1 year
COURSE COMPLETION NOTICE

On successful completion of all modules, you will be able to download a Notice of Course Completion through your student profile. This will remain on your profile as formal indication of course completion.

CSI will enter your results into CIPR (the insurance regulator’s national registry of individuals that confirms final examination results) the next business day after you have successfully completed all required modules). Once your successful results are entered into CIPR you may apply with your provincial regulator to write the appropriate examination(s). Students will be provided with details on how to register with CIPR upon enrolment.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

More detailed information on CE Credits are available

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Module sur la déontologie et la pratique professionnelle en assurance
(Cours préalable à l'admission à l'examen provincial menant à l'obtention d'un permis.)

 

Module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle dans le secteur de l'assurance  

Module complémentaire préalable à l’admission à l’examen provincial menant à l’obtention d’un permis si vous êtes déjà autorisé à vendre de l’assurance dans une autre province, et que vous souhaitez étendre votre pratique au Québec, ou vice-versa.

 

Améliorez votre connaissance de la déontologie et la pratique professionnelle

Le module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle dans le secteur de l'assurance aborde le programme prévu par le Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d'assurance d'une façon détaillée, mais concise. Vous pourrez acquérir une connaissance approfondie des questions liées à la déontologie et la pratique professionnelle au sein du secteur de l’assurance.

Ce module complémentaire est accompagné d’un examen en ligne.  Il a été conçu de manière à tenir compte des exigences relatives au contenu et aux examens énoncées dans le curriculum des organismes de réglementation provinciaux.

Remarque : Veuillez prendre note que la consultation de la documentation sera autorisée pendant l'examen provincial. Tous les candidats recevront une copie en format électronique du module au centre d'examen.

Contenu du cours :

  • Cadre législatif de l’assurance.
  • Clauses de police d’assurance.
  • Réclamations et paiement du produit.
  • Règles et principes qui encadrent les activités de l’agent d’assurance.
  • Aspects relatifs à la déontologie et la pratique professionnelle dans le secteur de l'assurance.

 

L'inscription au module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle dans le secteur de l'assurance comprend :

  • Un manuel électronique portant sur la déontologie et pratique professionnelle. (Un module est consacré à la common law et un autre, au Code civil. Vous pouvez suivre l’un des deux.)
  • Une vaste gamme d'activités d'apprentissage en ligne, comme des mises en situation, des exercices pratiques et des questionnaires.
  • Un accès au soutien pédagogique de CSI pour des questions relatives à ce cours.

Remarque : Tous les étudiants sont tenus de s'inscrire au Registre canadien des participants en assurance (RCPA) lorsqu'ils s'inscrivent à ce cours. Veuillez prendre note que vous ne serez pas en mesure d'accéder à votre matériel didactique tant que vous n'aurez pas finalisé votre inscription au RCPA. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la procédure d'inscription, consultez votre lettre de confirmation d'inscription au cours ou ouvrez une session de cours en ligne. Dès que votre inscription au RCPA sera complétée, CSI en sera avisé. Vous aurez accès à votre matériel didactique le jour męme ou le jour ouvrable suivant.

Heures d'étude approximatives**
Heures d’étude 30 à 40 heures

** Afin de guider les étudiants sur les heures d'études nécessaires pour se préparer à passer les examens, CSI a établi cette estimation du nombre d'heures que l'étudiant moyen pourrait s'attendre à consacrer à l'étude dans le cadre d'un cours. Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit que du nombre d'heures d'étude recommandé, qui a été établi en fonction de la recherche effectuée et du contenu de nos cours; cependant, cela ne signifie pas que certains étudiants aux antécédents exceptionnels n'auraient pas besoin de moins de temps que le nombre d'heures recommandé, ou que des étudiants ne possédant aucune formation en finances n'auraient pas besoin de plus d'heures d'étude que le maximum recommandé.

 

ÉVALUATION

Ce module satisfait aux exigences relatives à l'examen provincial menant à l'obtention d'un permis.

Vous devez obtenir une note minimale de 60 % pour réussir l'examen (il n'y a aucun travail pratique à faire). Le nombre maximal d'essais autorisés pour réussir l'examen est de trois.

Lorsque vous réussissez le module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle dans le secteur de l’assurance, vous êtes autorisé à passer l'examen provincial correspondant en vue d’obtenir un permis d'assurance vie et/ou un permis d’assurance contre la maladie et les accidents pour le Québec ou, si vous détenez déjà celui pour le Québec, dans une autre province.

Vous disposez d'un délai d'un an après avoir réussi l’examen de CSI pour passer l’examen provincial correspondant. Cependant, nous vous recommandons de passer l'examen provincial rapidement après avoir réussi le cours, de façon à vous assurer que vos connaissances et votre compréhension sont claires et à jour.

STRUCTURE DE L'EXAMEN (Module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle)
(la pondération est approximative)

Module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle (pour l'ensemble des provinces et territoires, à l'exception du Québec)
Intégrer à la pratique professionnelle les particularités juridiques des contrats d'assurance et de rentes 60%
Intégrer à la pratique professionnelle les règles qui encadrent l'activité de représentant 40%
OU

Module de déontologie et pratique professionnelle (Québec seulement)

Comprendre le cadre législatif de l'assurance de personnes 20%
Intégrer à la pratique professionnelle les particularités juridiques des contrats d'assurance et de rentes 40%
Intégrer à la pratique professionnelle les règles qui encadrent l'activité de représentant 40%
FORMULE DE L'EXAMEN  
Examen 1
Formule En ligne
Durée

60 minutes

Présentation des questions Choix multiples
Nombre de questions par examen 30
Nombre d'essais autorisés par examen 3
Note de passage 60%
Travaux pratiques Aucuns
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION  
Période d’inscription 1 an
AVIS DE RÉUSSITE DU COURS

Lorsque vous aurez complété tous les modules, vous pourrez télécharger un avis de réussite du cours par l'entremise de votre profil d'étudiant. Cette information demeurera dans votre dossier à titre de preuve officielle de réussite du cours.

CSI procédera à l'enregistrement de votre résultat dans le registre national des organismes de réglementation du secteur de l'assurance afin de confirmer que vous avez réussi l'examen final, s'il y a lieu. Une fois que cette opération aura été effectuée, vous pourrez soumettre une demande à votre organisme de réglementation provincial en vue de passer les examens appropriés. Au moment de leur inscription, les étudiants seront informés de la procédure à suivre pour s'inscrire dans le registre.

†Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, pourvu que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

 

Crédits de formation continue

L'information relative à la formation continue portant sur ce nouveau cours sera prête à être publiée en septembre, une fois que toutes les demandes auront été soumises et approuvées par les organismes qui supervisent la formation continue.