Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

New Entrants Course (NEC)

 

The New Entrants Course assumes an established base of investment knowledge and looks at subjects from a Canadian perspective, including:

  • Overview of the Canadian securities industry
  • Selected Canadian economic topics
  • Investment products
  • Insurance products, including segregated funds
  • Fee-based accounts
  • Taxes and taxation issues
  • The Canadian regulatory environment
  • Dealing with clients
  • Special transactions and products
  • Applied ethics

What's Included:

  • Electronic versions of the Canadian Securities Course (CSC®) textbooks, the Conduct and Practices Handbook (CPH) and Applied Ethics in the Securities Industry (in PDF format)
  • Interactive activities to reinforce key learning
  • Customizable calendar
  • Assistance from CSI’s academic specialists
  • Timely course updates via CSI's website
  • One sitting of the exam, if written in Canada (fee applies for international sittings)

If you selected the "with textbook" option you'll receive a printed version of the Canadian Securities Course (CSC®), Conduct and Practices Handbook (CPH) and Applied Ethics in the Securities Industry.

EXAM STRUCTURE
(weightings are approximate)
The Canadian Investment Marketplace CSC Volume 1: Chapter 2 5%
The Economy CSC Volume 1: Chapters 4 & 5 7%
Investment Products CSC Volume 1 & 2: Chapters 6-8, 18, 20-24 23%
Canadian Taxation CSC Volume 2: Chapter 25 15%
The Regulatory Environment CPH Section I: Chapters 1-3 8%
Dealing with Client Accounts CPH Section II: Chapters 4-8 16%
Special Transaction and Products CPH Section III: Chapters 9-10 11%
Applied Ethics in the Securities Industry AESI: Chapters 1-5 15%
EXAM FORMAT
Exams 1
Exam Format Paper Based
Exam Length 2 Hours
Question Format Multiple Choice
Questions Per Exam 75
Attempts Allowed Per Exam 3*
Passing Grade 60%
Assignments None
ENROLMENT PERIOD
Enrolment Period 1 year†
COURSE COMPLETION NOTICE AND WALL CERTIFICATE

On successful completion of this course you will be able to download a Notice of Course Completion available through your student profile. This will remain on your profile as formal indication of course completion.

CSI will mail you a wall certificate within 4 - 6 weeks of course completion. If you would like to purchase a frame to display your certificate please click here. Please ensure that your First and Last Name on your profile match your First and Last Name on your Government Issued Photo identification - this will ensure you receive an accurate certificate.

CSI will be pleased to issue an Honors Certificate to all students who obtain a final course mark of 85% or higher.

*There is no charge for your first attempt at a paper-based exam within Canada, as long as it's at a regular exam center and you provide a minimum of 14 days notice before the date that you want to write the exam. If you would like to write a computer-based exam, an additional fee will be required.

Each subsequent paper-based exam attempt at a regular exam centre within Canada will also require an additional fee. This fee is in addition to any special, computer-based or international fees that may apply. You must provide a minimum of 14 days notice within Canada at a regular exam centre and 4 weeks notice for all other centres. Please note that the date of the exam is not part of any notice period.

†Please note: Access to your online materials will close 2 weeks after successful course completion or course expiry (whichever comes first). This course can be extended by 1 year provided you have not exceeded the attempts allowed for each exam. You can view CSI extension fees here. Your enrolment period can only be extended one time.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

For details on the organizations and other information on CE Credits listed in the above charts, please click here.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Cours à l'intention des candidats étrangers admissibles

 

Le Cours à l'intention des candidats étrangers admissibles suppose des connaissances étendues en placement et ne porte que sur les questions considérées comme étant exclusivement canadiennes :

  • Aperçu du secteur canadien des valeurs mobilières
  • L'économie canadienne
  • Produits d'investissement
  • Produits d’assurance incluant les fonds distincts
  • Comptes à honoraires
  • Planification financière et fiscalité
  • Réglementation canadienne
  • Négocier avec les clients
  • Produits et transactions spéciales
  • L'éthique appliquée

L'inscription au cours comprend :

  • les versions électroniques en format PDF du manuel du Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada (CCVM), du Manuel sur les normes de conduite (MNC) et du manuel du cours L'éthique appliquée dans le secteur des valeurs mobilières
  • des activités interactives pour renforcer l'apprentissage
  • un calendrier personnalisé
  • l'accès au soutien pédagogique de CSI pour des questions relatives à ce cours
  • les mises à jour du cours dans le site web de CSI
  • un essai à l'examen, s'il est passé au Canada (des frais s'appliquent si les examens sont passés à l'extérieur du Canada)

Si vous avez sélectionné « avec manuel », vous recevrez les publications imprimés du Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada (CCVM), du Manuel sur les normes de conduite (MNC) et du cours L'éthique appliquée dans le secteur des valeurs mobilières.

STRUCTURE DE L'EXAMEN
(la pondération est approximative)
Le marché canadien des placements CCVM Volume 1: Chapitre 2 5 %
L'économie CCVM Volume 1: Chapitres 4 & 5 7 %
Produits d'investissement CCVM Volume 1 et 2: Chapitres 6-8, 18, 20-24 23 %
Fiscalité canadienne CCVM Volume 2: Chapitre 25 15 %
Le cadre réglementaire MNC Section I: Chapitres 1-3 8 %
Traitement des comptes-clients MNC Section II: Chapitres 4-8 16 %
Opérations et produits particuliers MNC Section III: Chapitres 9-10 11 %
L'éthique appliquée dans le secteur des valeurs mobilières AESI: Chapitres 1-5 15 %
FORMULE DE L'EXAMEN
Examens 1
Formule Papier
Durée 2 heures
Présentation des questions Choix multiples
Nombre de questions par examen 75
Nombre d'essais autorisés par examen 3*
Note de passage 60 %
Travaux pratiques Aucun
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION
Période d'inscription 1 an

*Vous n'avez rien à débourser la première fois que vous vous inscrivez à un examen sur papier au Canada, dans la mesure où l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard et où vous vous inscrivez au moins 14 jours à l'avance. Si vous préférez passer votre examen sur ordinateur, des frais supplémentaires s'appliqueront.

Si vous vous inscrivez pour la deuxième ou la troisième fois à un examen sur papier dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada, des frais de reprise s'appliqueront, taxes en sus. Ces frais s'ajoutent à tout supplément exigé pour passer un examen à l'ordinateur ou à l'extérieur du Canada. Vous devez vous inscrire au moins 14 jours à l'avance si l'examen a lieu dans un centre d'examen standard au Canada et au moins quatre semaines à l'avance s'il a lieu ailleurs. Remarque : Le jour de l'examen n'est pas inclus dans les périodes d'avis.

† Veuillez noter que l’accès à votre matériel de cours en ligne prendra fin 2 semaines après la réussite de votre cours ou à la date d’expiration (selon la première éventualité). Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, en autant que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

AVIS DE RÉUSSITE DU COURS ET CERTIFICAT MURAL

Lorsque vous aurez complété ce cours, vous pourrez télécharger un Avis de réussite du cours disponible via votre profil d’étudiant. Cette information demeurera dans votre dossier à titre de preuve officielle de réussite du cours.

CSI vous postera un certificat mural de 4 à 6 semaines après la fin du cours réussi. Si vous désirez acheter un cadre pour votre certificat, veuillez cliquer ici. Veuillez vérifier que vos nom et prénom sont bien écrits dans votre profil d’étudiant et qu’ils correspondent exactement à ceux indiqués sur une pièce d’identité comportant une photo et émise par un gouvernement. Vous vous assurerez ainsi de l’exactitude du certificat que vous recevrez.

CSI se fera un plaisir d’émettre un certificat avec mention d’honneur à tout étudiant qui a complété son cours avec une note finale de 85 % ou plus.

Crédits de formation continue

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ou les boutons situés à droite pour accéder à l’information relative à la formation continue. Pour faire une recherche sur un cours précis, appuyez sur Ctrl+F puis indiquez le titre du cours afin de trouver l’information qui vous intéresse.

National/provincial (Québec non compris)
Télécharger le tableau de FC (PDF, 163 kb)

Québec (IQPF/CSF)
Télécharger le tableau IQPF/CSF (PDF, 182 kb)

Note: Bien que CSI fait le maximum pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de ces données, il ne peut s’en porter garant. L’information présentée dans les tableaux ci-dessus peut être sujet à modifications.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les associations et autres informations sur les crédits de FC présentées dans les tableaux ci-dessus.