Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Personal Financial Services Advice (PFSA)

The Personal Financial Services Advice (PFSA) course is designed to help you confidently deliver the right advice to your clients based on their individual needs. You'll improve your communications skills, build stronger, more profitable relationships and ultimately, grow your client-base. What's more, completing the PFSA puts you one step closer to earning the Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation and Certificate in Financial Services Advice – CSI's industry-leading credentials.

Learn more if you're buying for a team?

Who Should Enrol

The PFSA is designed for individuals who may have little or no background in financial planning. These individuals have likely completed the Canadian Securities Course (CSC®)® or the Investment Funds in Canada (IFC) course and are looking to progress their career in financial planning.

About the Exam

The PFSA exam is completely online and accessible through your online course. Advance booking is not required.

Course leads to the following credentials:

PFP PFP   CFSA CFSA   CPB

Gain valuable insight into the key financial planning processes and principles that guide today's financial services organizations. Learn expert techniques and skills for building client trust, such as:

  • Identify strategies for satisfying clients with varying needs, goals and objectives
  • Evaluate the merits of different financial tools to create value for clients
  • Assess the current financial climate in relation to client risk tolerance
  • Build positive and profitable client relationships through communication, trust and credibility
  • Establish a loyal client base through adherence to superior performance and service standards
  • Identify and understand processes, procedures and legal requirements by which financial institutions are bound

How you'll learn

The PFSA course is delivered through an online interactive learning environment. You can take advantage of eBook readings, learning activities for self assessment, and a customized diagnostic tool designed to help you prepare for your exam.

Measure your progress

CSI's online learning system helps you meet, and even exceed, your study goals. You'll benefit from:

  • Learning objectives and goals that keep you focused
  • Interactive tools to help you evaluate and apply course material
  • Post-chapter tests to assess your progress
  • Course updates
  • A customizable calendar
  • Online discussion forums and assistance from CSI's academic support specialists
Approximate Hours of Study**
Hours of Study 50 - 70 hours

** In order to provide some guidance to course participants as to the length of time it will take to be sufficiently prepared to write the final examination, CSI has prepared this estimate of the number of hours an average participant could possibly expect to spend studying for a course. Please note that these are only recommended hours of study developed based on research and our course content, however, this does not mean that some students with exceptional backgrounds would not take less time than recommended or that students with no background at all in finance or economics would not take longer than the maximum.

EXAM STRUCTURE
(weightings are approximate)
Building Relationships 15%
Communication and Collaboration 7%
Micro & Macroeconomics 10%
Personal Financial Statements 14%
Financial Math; Time Value of Money 13%
Needs Based Sales Approach 8%
Recommending Solutions 8%
Ethics in Bank Advisory Services 5%
Know Your Client and Risk Management 15%
Regulatory Organizations and Banking 5%
Important: The PFSA exam is completely online and accessible through your online course. Advance booking is not required.
EXAM FORMAT
Exams 1
Exam Format Online
Exam Length 90 minutes
Question Format Multiple Choice
Questions Per Exam 60
Attempts Allowed Per Exam 2
Passing Grade 60%
Assignments None
ENROLMENT PERIOD
Enrolment Period 1 year†

†Please note: Access to your online materials will close 2 weeks after successful course completion or course expiry (whichever comes first). This course can be extended by 1 year provided you have not exceeded the attempts allowed for each exam. You can view CSI extension fees here. Your enrolment period can only be extended one time.

Important: During a student's enrolment period, CSI may update this course. In that case, details about the update and how it may affect students will be posted online via My CSI. Students are held responsible for and are examinable on the content in the course textbook(s) provided at the time of enrollment unless stated otherwise in My CSI. Students are encouraged to check My CSI regularly throughout their enrolment period. Please note that a certificate will not be issued upon completion of this course.

Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Click the links below or the buttons at the top of the page on the right side to access CE accreditation information. To search for specific course information, press Ctrl + F and then enter the course name to search the document for the information you are interested in.

National/Provincial (Excluding Quebec)
Download CE Chart (PDF, 163 kb)

Quebec (IQPF/CSF)
Download IQPF/CSF Chart (PDF, 182 kb)

Please note: While CSI makes every effort to ensure that the information is up-to-date, we are unfortunately unable to fully guarantee its accuracy. The information listed in the charts above may be subject to change.

More detailed information on CE Credits are available.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Conseils en services financiers aux particuliers (CSFP)

Le cours Conseils en services financiers aux particuliers (CSFP) est conçu pour aider les professionnels de la finance à offrir de bons conseils, en toute confiance, à leurs clients, en fonction des besoins particuliers de ceux-ci. Élaboré de façon à s'harmoniser avec les compétences professionnelles exigées des nouveaux conseillers, ce cours permettra aux professionnels d'améliorer leurs aptitudes en communication, d'établir des relations plus solides et plus avantageuses et, ultimement, d'élargir leur clientèle. En suivant le CSFP, vous ferez un pas de plus vers l'obtention du Certificat en conseils de services financiers et du titre de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD), deux titres de compétence parmi les plus respectés du secteur.

À qui ce cours s'adresse-t-il?

Le cours CSFP s'adresse aux personnes qui ont peu ou pas d'expérience en planification financière. Ces personnes ont probablement suivi le CCVM ou le cours FIC et cherchent à faire progresser leur carrière en planification financière.

Ausujet de l'examen

L’examen du cours CSFP s’effectue en ligne; vous pouvez y accéder à partir de votre cours en ligne. Il n’est pas nécessaire de réserver une date d’examen.

Ce cours mène aux titres de compétences de CSI suivants :

PFP PFP   CFSA CFSA   CPB

Faites l'acquisition de précieuses connaissances sur les processus clés en planification financière et les principes qui guident les organismes d'aujourd'hui dans le secteur des services financiers. Apprenez des techniques d'expert et développez des compétences pour bâtir une relation de confiance avec le client, tels que :

  • déterminer les stratégies nécessaires pour satisfaire aux besoins et aux objectifs des clients;
  • évaluer les mérites de divers outils financiers en vue de créer de la valeur pour les clients;
  • évaluer le contexte financier actuel, par rapport à la tolérance au risque du client;
  • établir avec les clients des relations positives et avantageuses, grâce à la communication, à la confiance et à la crédibilité;
  • se créer une clientèle fidèle, grâce à un rendement et à des normes de service supérieurs;
  • déterminer et comprendre les processus, les procédures et les exigences juridiques auxquels doivent adhérer les institutions financières.

Méthode d'apprentissage

Le cours CSFP est offert dans un contexte d'apprentissage en ligne interactif. Vous pouvez tirer avantage de livres électroniques, d'activités d'apprentissage aux fins d'auto-évaluation et d'un outil de diagnostic personnalisé, conçu pour faciliter la préparation à l'examen.

Évaluez vos progrès

Le système d'apprentissage en ligne de CSI vous permet d'atteindre, et même de dépasser, les objectifs que vous vous fixez dans vos études. Vous bénéficierez de ce qui suit :

  • Objectifs d'apprentissage qui vous aideront à rester concentré
  • Outils interactifs pour évaluer les connaissances acquises et appliquer la matière du cours
  • Contrôles des connaissances après chaque chapitre pour évaluer les progrès accomplis
  • Mises à jour
  • Calendrier personnalisé
  • Forums de discussion en ligne et soutien pédagogique de CSI pour des questions relatives à ce cours
Heures d'étude approximatives**
Heures d'étude 50 à 70 heures

** Afin de guider les étudiants sur les heures d'études nécessaires pour se préparer à passer l'examen final, CSI a établi cette estimation du nombre d'heures que l'étudiant moyen pourrait s'attendre à consacrer à l'étude dans le cadre d'un cours. Veuillez noter qu'il ne s'agit que du nombre d'heures d'étude recommandé, qui a été établi en fonction de la recherche effectuée et du contenu de nos cours; cependant, cela ne signifie pas que certains étudiants aux antécédents exceptionnels n'auraient pas besoin de moins de temps que le nombre d'heures recommandé, ou que des étudiants ne possédant aucune formation en finances ou en économie n'auraient pas besoin de plus d'heures d'étude que le maximum recommandé.

STRUCTURE DE L'EXAMEN
(la pondération est approximative)
Établir des relations 15 %
La communication et la collaboration 7 %
Microéconomie et macroéconomie 10 %
États financiers personnels 14 %
Mathématiques financières : La valeur temporelle de l'argent 13 %
Méthode de vente axée sur les besoins 8 %
Recommander des solutions 8 %
L'éthique dans le secteur des services financiers 5 %
Bien connaître son client et la gestion du risque 15 %
Le régime de réglementation pour les institutions financières 5 %
Important: L’examen du cours CSFP s’effectue en ligne; vous pouvez y accéder à partir de votre cours en ligne. Il n’est pas nécessaire de réserver une date d’examen.
FORMULE DE L'EXAMEN
Examens 1
Formule en ligne
Durée 90 minutes
Présentation des questions Choix multiples
Nombre de questions par examen 60
Nombre d'essais autorisés par examen 2
Note de passage 60 %
Travaux pratiques Aucun
PÉRIODE D'INSCRIPTION
Période d'inscription 1 an

† Veuillez noter que l’accès à votre matériel de cours en ligne prendra fin 2 semaines après la réussite de votre cours ou à la date d’expiration (selon la première éventualité). Ce cours peut être prolongé d'un an, en autant que vous n'ayez pas excédé le nombre d'essais autorisés pour chaque examen. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des frais de prolongation ici. La période d'inscription ne peut être prolongée qu'une seule fois.

Important : CSI peut mettre à jour ce cours durant la période valide de l'inscription d'un étudiant. Si tel est le cas, des précisions sur les modifications apportées au cours et leurs incidences sur les étudiants seront affichées sur Mon CSI. Il incombe aux étudiants de prendre connaissance de la matière contenue dans les manuels fournis au moment de l'inscription, sauf indication contraire dans Mon CSI. Nous recommandons aux étudiants de consulter régulièrement Mon CSI tout au long de leur période d'inscription.

Crédits de formation continue

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ou les boutons situés à droite pour accéder à l’information relative à la formation continue. Pour faire une recherche sur un cours précis, appuyez sur Ctrl+F puis indiquez le titre du cours afin de trouver l’information qui vous intéresse.

National/provincial (Québec non compris)
Télécharger le tableau de FC (PDF, 163 kb)

Québec (IQPF/CSF)
Télécharger le tableau IQPF/CSF (PDF, 182 kb)

Note: Bien que CSI fait le maximum pour s’assurer de l’exactitude de ces données, il ne peut s’en porter garant. L’information présentée dans les tableaux ci-dessus peut être sujet à modifications.

Veuillez cliquer ici pour plus de détails sur les associations et autres informations sur les crédits de FC présentées dans les tableaux ci-dessus.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey