Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Certified International Wealth Manager (CIWM)

A CIWM OFFERS MORE

  • Proven strategies to protect and build the significant wealth of a more affluent clientele
  • The highest designation for integrated wealth management planning in Canada and around the world.
  • A globally recognized and fully portable credential for international wealth management.

WHAT YOU WILL LEARN

Diverse disciplines required to serve the integrated wealth management needs of high net-worth clients including: trust strategy and succession planning, insurance, tax strategy and estate planning. Advanced investment strategies for wealth accumulation, management and protection at all life stages for today's affluent clientele. How to manage wealth assets across global markets.
Advanced standing into Dalhousie's MBA in Financial Services
CIWM designation holders in good standing are eligible to receive credit for up to 4 MBA courses. Learn more about Dalhousie's MBA in Financial Services.

YOUR PATH TO THE CIWM

CIWM Paths
ARES Chartered Investment Manager CIM sw360SW360sw360 Advanced Investment Strategies SW360 AETS ARMS

* Optional — not required to attain the designation. 
† Certification examination. 
‡ Candidates must hold ANY of the following: Financial planning designations (PFP®, CFP®, CLU, FOFP or FMA) or Wealth Management Essentials (WME) course in addition to the path above.
*External Designation Recognitions are subject to CSI's External Designation Recognition policy and fee. In addition to completing the required courses, you must also have 3 years of relevant work experience prior to taking the Strategic Wealth 360 (SW360) to earn the CIWM designation.

When enrolling in a course, you may take Advanced Investment Strategies (AIS)Advanced Retirement Management Strategies (ARMS) or the Advanced Estate Planning & Trust Strategies course (AETS) in any order. You must, however successfully complete all components before enrolling in the Strategic Wealth 360.

To be eligible to enrol in the Strategic Wealth 360, you must have at least 3 years of experience working directly with, or in support of, the wealth management needs of retail clients.

Once you have successfully completed the Strategic Wealth 360 you may then apply for your CIWM designation.

For more information on work experience requirements, click here.

NOTICE: 5–YEAR RULE

The educational path must be completed not more than 5 years prior to application to write the Strategic Wealth 360 Certification Examination. Exemptions can be granted for courses offered by other education providers. If an individual has exceeded the 5 year time line, completion of the Advanced Investment Strategies course or Advanced Estate Planning and Trust Course and examination or Advanced Retirement Management Strategies course and examination (or equivalent) will be required. Individuals must apply for the designation within 5 years of successfully completing the Strategic Wealth 360 Certification Examination. Individuals who do not qualify for the designation within this 5 year period will be required to re-take the Strategic Wealth 360 Certification examination prior to being granted the designation. They will not be required to re-take the educational path.

™/© Canadian Securities Institute

*The CFP® designation is not awarded by CSI. It is granted under license by the Financial Planners Standards Council (FPSC) to those who have met its educational standards, passed the FPSC Certified Financial Planner (CFP) Examination, satisfied a work experience requirement and agree to abide by FPSC Code of Ethics.

Help us improve our website by providing some feedback on your experience.

Take Survey

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

CIWM (Certified International Wealth Manager)

UN CIWM EN OFFRE PLUS

  • Des stratégies éprouvées pour protéger et faire croître l’important patrimoine d’une clientèle plus fortunée.

  • Le titre professionnel le plus élevé en planification et en gestion de patrimoine intégrée, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger.

  • Un titre de compétence pleinement reconnu à l’échelle mondiale pour la gestion de patrimoine internationale.

CE QUE VOUS APPRENDREZ

Les diverses disciplines permettant de répondre aux besoins en gestion de patrimoine intégrée des clients à valeur nette élevée, notamment : la planification fiduciaire et de la relève, l’assurance, les stratégies fiscales et la planification successorale. Des stratégies avancées de gestion des placements axées sur l’accumulation, la gestion et la protection du patrimoine à toutes les étapes de la vie des clients fortunés d’aujourd’hui. Comment gérer des actifs patrimoniaux répartis sur les marchés internationaux.

Octroi de crédits dans le cadre du MBA en services financiers de l’Université Dalhousie
Les détenteurs en règle du titre de CIWM sont admissibles à l’obtention d’un nombre maximal de crédits équivalant à quatre cours du programme de MBA. Apprenez-en davantage sur le MBA en services financiers de l’Université Dalhousie.

PARCOURS MENANT À L'OBTENTION DU TITRE DE CIWM

CIWM Paths

ARES Chartered Investment Manager CIM sw360SW360sw360 Advanced Investment Strategies SW360 AETS ARMS

* Optionnel — N’est pas requis pour l’obtention du titre.
† Examen de certification.
‡ Les candidats doivent détenir un titre professionnel en planification financière (PFPMD, CFPMD, AVAMD, Pl.fin., CFPF ou FMA) ou encore avoir réussi le cours Notions essentielles sur la gestion de patrimoine (NEGP) et le parcours indiqué ci-dessus.
* La reconnaissance de titres professionnels de l’extérieur est assujettie à la politique Reconnaissance de titres professionnels de l’extérieur de CSI et aux frais applicables. En plus d’avoir réussi les cours requis, vous devez détenir trois ans d’expérience professionnelle pertinente pour vous inscrire au cours Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360 et obtenir le titre de CIWM.

Vous pouvez suivre les cours Stratégies avancées de gestion des placements (SAGP), Stratégies avancées de gestion de la retraite (SAGR) et Stratégies avancées de planification successorale et fiduciaire (SPSF) dans l’ordre que vous souhaitez. Cependant, vous devez réussir tous ces cours avant de vous inscrire au cours Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360.

Pour pouvoir vous inscrire au cours Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360, vous devez détenir au moins trois ans d’expérience directe ou indirecte en gestion de patrimoine pour des clients de détail. Ce cours est seulement disponible en anglais.

Lorsque vous avez réussi le cours Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360, vous pouvez faire votre demande de titre de CIWM.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences relatives à l’expérience, cliquez ici.

AVIS : RÈGLE DE CINQ ANS

Le candidat doit soumettre une demande en vue d’effectuer l’examen de certification de Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360 au plus tard cinq ans après avoir complété le parcours de formation. Une exemption peut être accordée pour les cours offerts par d’autres prestataires de formation. Lorsque le délai de cinq ans est écoulé, la réussite du cours Stratégies avancées de gestion des placements (SAGP), Stratégies avancées de planification successorale et fiduciaire (SPSF) ou Stratégies avancées de gestion de la retraite (SAGR) est exigée. Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande de titre au plus tard cinq ans après avoir réussi l’examen de certification de Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360. Les personnes qui ne font pas leur demande dans ce délai doivent réussir de nouveau l’examen de certification de Gestion stratégique de patrimoine 360 pour pouvoir obtenir leur titre. Elles ne sont toutefois pas tenues de refaire le parcours de formation en entier.

*Le titre de CFPMD n’est pas accordé par CSI. Il est octroyé sous licence par le Conseil relatif aux standards des planificateurs financiers aux candidats qui ont satisfait aux critères pédagogiques, passé l’examen de planificateur financier agréé (CFP), répondu aux exigences relatives à l’expérience et accepté de se conformer au code de déontologie du Conseil relatif aux standards des planificateurs financiers.