Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Personal Financial Planner (PFP®)

What Are The Requirements to Become a PFP®

  1. Education
    • The PFP® requires applicants to complete an approved learning path
  2. Certification Examination
  3. Work Experience
  4. Code of Ethics
    • When applying for the PFP® you must commit to the PFP® Code of Ethics.
  5. Trademarks
  6. Application/Licence
    • The initial application fee is $275 and includes your licence fee for the year.and your commitment to the maintenance requirements such as continuing education. For more information, please visit the PFP requirements page.

The Educational Paths to the PFP:

Three paths are offered through CSI, one path through Mohawk College and two paths through Seneca College.

PFP Path Mohawk College BMAP

To enrol in a CSI course, or learn about registration in the college program click on the name of the CSI course or the name of the college program.

AFP CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION

The Applied Financial Planning (AFP) is the Certification Examination required in order to achieve the Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation. It represents the final hurdle for candidates to complete the certification requirements for CSI's Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation. For more information about certification requirements, including required work experience, click here.

Designation Application Timing Limit

Candidates must apply for the PFP® designation within 5 years of successful completion of the AFP Certification Examination. Candidates who do not meet this time line must successfully complete the CSI Financial Planning II course (or equivalent) prior to re-enrolling in the AFP Certification Examination.

EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT: In addition to completing the required courses and examination certification,candidates must have fulfilled a financial planning/financial advising role for three (3) of the last seven (7) years to be eligible for the PFP®designation. For more information on work experience requirements, click here.

PFP FAQs

Looking for more information on the Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation? Check out our most frequently asked questions.

Canadian Securities Institute, Moody's Analytics Training & Certification Services
Mobile Menu

Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD)

QUELLES CONDITIONS FAUT-IL REMPLIR POUR DEVENIR un PFPMD?

  1. Formation
  2. Examen de certification
  3. Expérience professionnelle
    • Avoir accumulé au moins trois années d'expérience professionnelle pertinente.
  4. Code de déontologie
  5. Marques de commerce
  6. Droits de demande initiale et de licence
    • Acquitter les droits de demande initiale de 275 $, lesquels comprennent les droits de licence pour l'année, et s’engager à respecter les exigences de conservation du titre, dont la formation continue.

PARCOURS DE FORMATION OFFERTS

Voici les parcours de formation menant au titre de PFPmd :

PFP Path Mohawk College BMAP

* Facultatif – non nécessaire à l’obtention du titre professionnel.
† Examen de certification.

Pour vous inscrire à un cours de CSI ou en apprendre sur l’inscription à un programme collégial, cliquez sur le titre du cours de CSI ou du programme collégial.

EXAMEN DE CERTIFICATION EN PLANIFICATION FINANCIÈRE APPLIQUÉE

Pour obtenir le titre professionnel de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD), il faut réussir l’Examen de certification en planification financière appliquée. C’est la dernière étape que les candidats doivent franchir pour satisfaire à toutes les exigences de certification menant à l’obtention du titre de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD) de CSI. Pour en savoir davantage sur les exigences de certification, notamment au chapitre de l’expérience professionnelle, cliquez ici.

Délai pour la demande du titre professionnel

Les candidats doivent présenter leur demande de titre de PFPMD dans les cinq années qui suivent la réussite de l’Examen de certification en planification financière appliquée. Les candidats qui ne respectent pas ce délai devront réussir le cours Planification financière II de CSI (ou l’équivalent) avant de se présenter de nouveau à l’Examen de certification en planification financière appliquée.

EXIGENCE RELATIVE À L’EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE : En plus d’avoir réussi les cours exigés et l’examen de certification, les candidats doivent avoir occupé un poste en planification financière/conseils financiers pendant trois (3) des sept (7) dernières années pour être admissibles au titre professionnel de PFPMD. Pour en savoir davantage sur les exigences au chapitre de l’expérience professionnelle, cliquez ici.

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS SUR LE TITRE DE PFPMD

Vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le titre de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD)? Consultez notre foire aux questions.