Financial Health for Seniors

Within the finance community, it's well-known that the issues facing seniors are critical. In addition to being a sizeable demographic with unique requirements, seniors are among the most vulnerable of investors. As an organization that offers licensing courses and advanced designations, CSI would like to contribute in a meaningful way to alleviating the challenges seniors face.

We believe that supporting our designation holders to serve senior clients and their families even better is a role we can play. Based on a survey of our designation holders, we identified topics, types of resources and activities that would help them better serve their senior clients. CSI hopes that this initiative will contribute toward enhancing the advice provided to seniors in the coming years.

Advisory Council

To best shape our approach and program, we created an Advisory Council. We received an overwhelming response with many designation holders offering to engage with us on this initiative. The Advisory Council comprises a mix of designation holders, spanning firms, roles and geographic locations that represent the community. These members will guide our approach in helping all of our designation holders to best serve clients.

Content Committee

In order to support the development of good content, we have created a Content Committee to select and review relevant materials.

Presenters

CSI will be drawing upon the community to deliver webinars. Here are the speakers we have organized to conduct the initial presentations:

About the Survey and Results

In November 2018, CSI conducted the "Financial Health for Seniors" survey, asking designation holders to confirm the issues they were encountering in serving the seniors market and to identify ways that CSI could help better support advisors, seniors and their families. More than 500 designation holders responded to the survey and the results were published in April 2019. The Financial Health for Seniors report outlines key areas we want to focus on and the types of resources available.

Upcoming Webinars

The changing face of retirement advice

Barry Lavalley | Dec. 12, 2019

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

The picture of retirement has changed from a generation ago. Today, increasing numbers of clients are embracing the concept of “the modern elder”. This session discusses how that affects later life planning - and how the advisor can become a catalyst, educator and coach for clients entering this new phase of life.

Starting the Conversation
 

Neela White | Jan. 14, 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

This session provides perspective on the challenges that encompass aging and will offer solutions for preparedness. There is a critical need to give thought to realistic life plans surrounding aging, having meaningful conversations, and helping to facilitate better outcomes for this important time in everyone's lives.

Understanding the Complexities of Elder Abuse

Raeann Rideout | Jan. 28, 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

Finance professionals who engage with senior clients play a critical role in recognizing the warning signs of abuse and can offer support to seniors at-risk or experiencing abuse. Advisors will learn the complexities of elder abuse by reviewing case studies to better understand key issues that may become apparent in their daily practice.

Preventing Financial Abuse of Older Adults

Raeann Rideout | Feb. 11, 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

This session will provide advisors with an overview of financial abuse specific to older adults, and demonstrate, through the use of case studies, the legal options and approaches to empowering older adults and preventing victimization.

Estate Planning Conversations
 

Dave Lee | Mar. 3, 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

This session is designed to help financial advisors hold productive estate planning conversations and understand when to involve other professionals. Advisors will learn which questions will help clients open up about key issues, such as choosing an executor, dealing with blended families and caring for financially vulnerable children.

Preparing an Estate for Simplicity using Life Insurance

John Niekraszewicz | Apr. 7, 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

Life Insurance is vital to solving problems related to estate planning. This session will illustrate real-life situations financial advisors face when using life insurance as a simple estate planning tool. Among the highlights: reviewing funding estate taxes and estate equalization early in a client relationship, which can be invaluable.

Long Term Caring: Aging Issues for Today and Tomorrow

Audrey Miller | Jun. 2020

Duration: 60 minutes
Time: 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST

This session will help advisors understand the client experience, while providing insights to attendees who are dealing with their own elder care concerns. Advisors will learn to better serve their clients by understanding the home and community care landscape, and their processes and costs to access services. Planning is a key message.

Presentation and Handouts

What Does Your Future Look Like?

The Lifestyle and Financial Implications of Aging and Long-Term Care

La santé financière des aînés

Les membres de la communauté financière sont tout à fait au courant que les aînés sont aux prises avec de graves problèmes. En plus de constituer une part importante de la population aux besoins particuliers, les aînés sont aussi des investisseurs des plus vulnérables. En qualité d’organisation qui offre des cours menant à des accréditations et à des titres professionnels prestigieux, CSI aimerait contribuer de façon importante aux efforts visant à alléger les difficultés auxquelles les aînés sont confrontés.

Nous croyons que, parmi les rôles que nous pouvons jouer, nous sommes en mesure d’aider les titulaires de nos titres à servir leurs clients âgés et les membres de leur famille. Grâce à un sondage mené auprès de ces titulaires, nous avons cerné des sujets, des types de ressources et d’activités qu’ils pourront utiliser pour mieux servir cette clientèle. Chez CSI, nous espérons que cette initiative contribuera à améliorer la prestation de conseils aux personnes âgées au fil des prochaines années.

Conseil consultatif

Pour optimiser notre méthode et notre programme, nous avons créé un conseil consultatif. Un nombre impressionnant de titulaires de nos titres nous ont offert de contribuer à cette initiative. Le conseil consultatif est formé de titulaires qui occupent divers postes dans diverses firmes partout au pays, de façon à représenter l’ensemble de la communauté. Ces membres du conseil orienteront notre façon d’aider les titulaires à mieux servir leur clientèle.

Comité responsable du contenu

Pour faciliter l’élaboration de contenu, nous avons également créé le comité responsable du contenu, qui examinera et sélectionnera la documentation pertinente.

Présentateurs

CSI fera appel à la collectivité pour présenter des Webinaires. Voici la liste des personnes que nous avons sélectionnées pour donner les premières présentations :

À propos du sondage et des résultats

En novembre 2018, CSI a mené un sondage intitulé « La santé financière des aînés » auprès des détenteurs de titres professionnels de CSI afin de valider les défis rencontrés au moment de traiter avec une clientèle aînée et de déterminer comment CSI pourrait mieux soutenir les conseillers, les aînés et leur famille. Plus de 500 détenteurs de titres ont répondu au sondage, dont les résultats ont été publiés en avril 2019. Le rapport « La santé financière des aînés » souligne les principaux aspects sur lesquels nous souhaitons mettre l’accent et les types de ressources disponibles.

Webinaires à venir

The changing face of retirement advice (en anglais seulement)
 

Barry Lavalley | 12 décembre 2019

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

La retraite aujourd’hui n’est pas la même que pour la génération précédente. En effet, un nombre croissant de client adoptent la notion d’« aîné moderne ». Cette séance porte sur l’influence de ce phénomène sur la planification des dernières phases de la vie et sur la façon dont le conseiller peut agir à titre de catalyseur, d’éducateur et d’accompagnateur pour les clients qui abordent une nouvelle phase.

Starting the Conversation (en anglais seulement)
 

Neela White | 14 janvier 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

Cette séance met en perspective les difficultés qui accompagnent le vieillissement et propose des solutions pour s’y préparer. Il est essentiel de réfléchir à des plans réalistes relativement au vieillissement, d’avoir des conversations en profondeur et de faciliter l’obtention de meilleurs résultats pour cette étape de la vie des gens.

Understanding the Complexities of Elder Abuse (en anglais seulement)
 

Raeann Rideout | 28 janvier 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

Les professionnels du secteur financier qui traitent avec des clients âgés jouent un rôle essentiel pour ce qui est de reconnaître les signes de maltraitance et peuvent offrir du soutien aux aînés qui sont à risque ou qui subissent de la maltraitance. Les conseillers en apprendront davantage sur la complexité de la maltraitance des personnes âgées en examinant des études de cas afin de mieux comprendre les problèmes qui peuvent se manifester dans leur pratique courante.

Preventing Financial Abuse of Older Adults (en anglais seulement)
 

Raeann Rideout | 11 février 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

Cette séance donnera aux conseillers un aperçu de la maltraitance financière propre aux personnes âgées et, au moyen d’études de cas case, présentera des recours juridiques et des façon de favoriser l’autonomie des aînés et de prévenir les risques qu’ils deviennent des victimes.

Estate Planning Conversations (en anglais seulement)
 

Dave Lee | 3 mars 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

Cette séance est conçue pour aider les conseillers financiers à tenir des conversations productives sur la planification successorale et à cerner les moments où il faut faire appel à d’autres professionnels. Les conseillers apprendront les questions à poser aux clients pour les aider à discuter de problèmes particuliers, comme choisir un exécuteur testamentaire, traiter avec une famille recomposée et prendre soin d’enfants vulnérables sur le plan financier.

Preparing an Estate for Simplicity using Life Insurance (en anglais seulement)

John Niekraszewicz | 7 avril 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

L’assurance vie est un outil essentiel à la résolution de problèmes liés à la planification successorale. Cette séance présente des cas concrets que les conseillers financiers doivent traiter lorsqu’ils ont recours à l’assurance vie comme outil de planification successorale facile. On abordera notamment le précieux avantage que présente le fait de discuter dès que possible dans la relation avec le client de l’impôt sur la succession et la division équitable de cette succession.

Long Term Caring: Aging Issues for Today and Tomorrow (en anglais seulement)

Audrey Miller | Juin 2020

Durée: 60 minutes
Heures: 12h à 13h HNE

Cette séance aidera les conseillers à comprendre l’expérience client et répondra aux questions des participants qui ont eux-mêmes des préoccupations liées aux soins aux aînés. Les conseillers apprendront à mieux servir leurs clients en comprenant le milieu des services de soins communautaires et à domicile, ainsi que les processus et les coûts liés à ces services. La planification sera au cœur du message.

Présentation et documentation à distribuer

What Does Your Future Look Like? (en anglais seulement)

Le style de vie et les implications financières du vieillissement et des soins de longue durée