What is PFP®? Leading Financial Industry Standards.

The Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation is a leading credential for comprehensive financial planning in Canada, recognized by Canada's largest financial institutions. It ensures that financial professionals have the knowledge and skills to address all aspects of a client's financial situation.

When you earn the PFP®, you will hold the premier designation recognized and adopted by Canada's largest financial institutions - and held to the highest standards through its ISO 17024 accreditation.

REQUEST MORE INFORMATION




Would you like to keep informed about CSI's products and promotions?

Yes      No

What is the Financial Planning Regulation in Canada?

Ontario

The Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FRSA) Financial Professionals Title Protection Rule came into effect in March 2022 which limits the use of the title of "financial planner" in Ontario to individuals who have obtained a credential from a credentialing body approved by FSRA.

CSI is pleased to be approved as a credentialing body by the FRSA under the Financial Professionals Title Protection Framework. The approval of our Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation will enable present and future PFP® designation holders to use the Financial Planning title in Ontario.

Saskatchewan

The Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan (FCAA or the Authority) publishing for comment Proposed Regulations [2021-001] – The Financial Planners and Financial Advisors Regulations (the Proposed Regulations) under The Financial Planners and Financial Advisors Act (FPFAA). This legislation is intended to limit the use of the titles of "financial planner" and "financial advisor." It is still in the public comment phase.

New Brunswick

The Financial and Consumer Services Commission of New Brunswick ("FCNB") is seeking public comment on potential approaches to the regulation of the titles "Financial Planner" and "Financial Advisor" in New Brunswick.

Quebec

The PFP® designation cannot be used in Quebec due to provincial regulations. To use the title "Financial Planner" in Quebec, individuals must hold the Pl. Fin. designation. CSI has a Financial Planning Education Program for Quebec, which prepares individuals to attain the Pl. Fin designation.

What are the Benefits of PFP ®?

In addition to qualifying you to develop and manage comprehensive financial plans for your clients, your PFP® designation provides you with the following benefits:

  • National promotion and advertising campaigns that create awareness of the PFP® designation, including opportunities to be featured
  • You will be listed in CSI's PFP® Directory, which helps clients find you and verify your credentials

Access to:

    • PFP® trademark designation letters:
      the right to use in marketing materials to promote your credentials
    • PFP® Portal login:
      unlock online resources, publications and customizable marketing materials to help you build your practice
      • PFP® LinkedIn Membership Network:
        Access to the member's only PFP networking group on LinkedIn
    • Exclusive webinars:
      stay on top of the latest industry topics
    • Promotional Tools:
      to help you promote yourself, your designation and educate your clients about you PFP

HARNESS YOUR POTENTIAL WITH THE PFP® LETTERS.

FIND OUT WHAT IT TAKES

MET THE REQUIREMENTS? APPLY NOW!

Note : FOR QUEBEC-BASED FINANCIAL PROFESSIONALS The PFP® designation cannot be used in Quebec due to provincial regulations. Financial planners in Quebec must hold the Pl. Fin. designation. Learn more about CSI's financial planning program for Quebec

Path to PFP

Path toPFP®

Learn More
Renew PFP<sup>®</sup>

RenewPFP®

Learn More
Learning path

Connect with PFP® holder

Learn More

What Designation Holders are Saying?

À propos du titre de PFPMD Les normes les plus avancées du secteur financier.

Reconnu par les plus grandes institutions financières du Canada, le titre de planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD) est un titre professionnel de premier ordre en matière de planification financière au pays. Il permet de s’assurer que le professionnel de la finance possède les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour gérer tous les aspects de la situation financière d’un client.

En obtenant le titre de PFPMD, vous obtenez un titre professionnel de premier ordre reconnu et adopté par les plus grandes institutions financières du Canada. Les détenteurs du titre sont assujettis aux normes les plus élevées par l’entremise de l’accréditation ISO 17024.

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS




Souhaitez-vous être informé(e) des produits et des promotions de CSI?

Oui     Non

Au Canada, quelle est la réglementation en matière de planification financière?

Ontario

En mars 2022, l'Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers (ARSF) a adopté sa règle visant la protection du titre des professionnels des finances, qui réserve l'utilisation du titre de « planificateur financier » en Ontario aux personnes qui ont obtenu le titre de compétences auprès d'un organisme d'accréditation qu'elle a approuvé.

CSI est heureux d'avoir été approuvé par l'ARSF comme organisme d'accréditation en vertu du Cadre de protection du titre des professionnels des finances. L'approbation de notre titre de « planificateur financier personnel » (PFPMD) permettra aux titulaires actuels et futurs du titre PFPMD d'utiliser le titre de « lanificateur financier » en Ontario.

Saskatchewan

La Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority de la Saskatchewan a publié les « Proposed Regulations [2021-001] - The Financial Planners and Financial Advisors Regulations » afin de recueillir des observations aux termes de la Financial Planners and Financial Advisors Act. Cette loi a pour but de limiter l'utilisation des titres de « financial planner » et de « financial advisor ». Le processus en est encore à l'étape de collecte de commentaires du public.

Nouveau-Brunswick

La Commission des services financiers et des services aux consommateurs (FCNB) cherche à consulter le public sur les diverses méthodes possibles de réglementation des titres de « planificateur financier » et de « conseiller financier » au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Québec

Au Québec, on ne peut pas utiliser le titre de PFPMD en raison de la réglementation provinciale. Plutôt, il faut avoir le titre de Pl. Fin. pour utiliser le terme « planificateur financier ». CSI offre donc aux Québécois le Programme en planification financière, qui prépare les étudiants à l'obtention du titre de Pl. Fin.

Avantages du titre de PFP MD

En plus de vous rendre apte à élaborer et à gérer des plans financiers complets pour vos clients, votre titre de PFPMD vous procure les avantages suivants :

  • bénéficier des campagnes de promotion et de publicité menées à l’échelle nationale pour accroître la visibilité du titre de PFPMD, avec la possibilité d’y être mentionné;
  • figurer dans le répertoire des PFPMD de CSI, qui permet aux clients de vous trouver et de vérifier vos titres de compétence.

Le titre offre également les avantages suivants :

    • Initiales honorifiques de la marque de commerce PFP :
      permission d’utiliser la marque de commerce dans les outils de marketing pour promouvoir votre titre
    • Accès au portail des PFPMD :
      consultation de ressources en ligne, de publications et d’outils de marketing personnalisables pour vous aider à bâtir votre clientèle
      • Communauté des PFPMD sur LinkedIn :
        accès exclusif au groupe de détenteurs du titre de PFPMD sur LinkedIn
    • Webinaires exclusifs :
      accès aux dernières tendances de l’industrie
    • Outils promotionnels :
      ressources pour vous aider à promouvoir votre travail et votre titre, et informer vos clients à ce sujet

EXPLOITEZ VOTRE POTENTIEL GRÂCE AU TITRE DE PFPMD.

DÉCOUVREZ SI VOUS AVEZ CE QU’IL FAUT

VOUS RESPECTEZ LES EXIGENCES? SOUMETTEZ VOTRE CANDIDATURE DÈS MAINTENANT!

N.B. : REMARQUE À L’INTENTION DES PROFESSIONNELS DE LA FINANCE ÉTABLIS AU QUÉBEC : Aux termes de la réglementation provinciale, le titre de PFPMD n’est pas reconnu au Québec. Les planificateurs financiers doivent détenir le titre de Pl. Fin. pour exercer leurs activités dans cette province. Apprenez-en davantage sur le programme en planification financière au Québec offert par CSI.

Parcours menant au titre de PFP

Parcours menant au titre de PFPMD

Pour en savoir plus
Renouvellement du titre de PFP<sup><sup>MD</sup></sup>

Renouvellement du titre de PFPMD

Pour en savoir plus
Parcours de formation

Communiquer avec un PFPMD

Pour en savoir plus

Message d’un détenteur du titre