CSI will be performing maintenance on June 22nd from 7:00 PM to 12:00 AM EST. Exam scheduling will be unavailable. Existing exam bookings will not be impacted. Please do not submit support tickets for scheduling issues during this time.

For over 50 years, CSI has taken pride in providing relevant, prestigious, real world credentials that allow financial professionals to prosper. As the financial services sector evolves, so too must the credentials available to the industry.

Below is an alphabetical listing of previously granted credentials, many of which have become hallmark designations in the industry over time. These credentials will always be valued as a respected mark of professional achievement.

Expand All| Collapse All

Associate, Institute of Canadian Bankers (AICB) 1926 to 2010

The AICB was an internationally recognized designation provided candidates with a range of specializations within the banking sector. Over 15,000 Canadians were granted this designation.

Canadian Investment Finance (CIF) 1975 to 1992

This program was the precursor to the Canadian Investment Manager (CIM) designation which launched in 1992. The CIF provided registered representatives in the securities sector with deep expertise in investment and securities analysis.

Canadian Investment Manager (CIM) 1992-2011

The CIM was granted between 1992 and 2011. It was replaced by the Chartered Investment Manager (CIM®) in 2012. The educational requirement was the same for both the CIM and CIM®. As of 2012, CIM® candidates were required to meet work experience requirement and adhere to a Code of Ethics.

Chartered Professional (Ch. P.) Strategic Wealth 2007-2010

The Ch. P Strategic Wealth was CSI's initial wealth management designation developed to help advisors service high net worth clients and manage the more complex financial needs of affluent clients. Candidates had to complete an extensive education path and complete the SW360 examination. The Ch. P. Strategic Wealth designation was re-branded as the Chartered Strategic Wealth Professional (CSWP) designation in 2010.

Chartered Strategic Wealth Professional (CSWP)® 2010–2014

The CSWP designation replaced the Ch. P. Strategic Wealth designation in 2010. The CSWP designation was targeted at advisors servicing high net worth and wanting to increase their expertise in managing the more complex financial needs of affluent clients. Candidates had to complete an extensive education path and complete the SW360 examination. The CSWP was re-placed by the Certified International Wealth Manager (CIWM) designation in 2014.

Derivatives Market Specialist (DMS) 1992 to 2010

The DMS designation was targeted at advisors and traders who wanted to deepen their expertise in dealing with a broad range of derivative products and related strategies. Candidates had to complete a series of several technical courses to earn the designation. The DMS became the Certificate in Derivatives Market Strategies in 2010.

Fellow, Institute of Canadian Bankers (FICB) 1969-2011

The FICB (Fellow, Institute of Canadian Bankers) was granted to over 10,000 leaders in the banking sector. FICBs developed a heightened understanding and the skills to manage effectively and efficiently in a globally competitive financial services industry. To earn the FICB, individuals had to successfully complete the robust Professional Banking Program.

Financial Management Advisor (FMA) 1999 to 2009

The FMA was the precursor to the Chartered Strategic Wealth Professional (CSWP) designation. Over 5,300 FMA designation holders were recognized as professionals who could provide the advanced service and advice to meet the needs of affluent clients.

Professional Banking Program 1984–2013

The PBP was designed for executives and high–potential managers in the financial services industry looking to excel in their careers. The program consisted of six courses (each a combination of self–study and intensive classroom sessions) on key management topics such as strategy. leadership, risk management and human resources focused on the unique skills related to managing in the banking industry. Upon completion of an individual Integration Project, PBP graduates were granted the Fellow of ICB (FICB).

Small Medium Enterprise (SME) Studies Diploma 1996 to 2010

The SME Studies Diploma provided specialized knowledge to advisors in the banking sector who dealt with small and medium enterprises and entrepreneurs. The program was replaced by the Certificate in Small Business Banking.

Specialty, Trust Institute (STI) Diploma 1998 to 2010

The diploma provided specialized training for estate and trust administrators and officers. Holders of the STI Diploma completed one of four specializations: Personal Trust – Estate and Trust Management, Personal Trust – Business Development, Mortgage and Taxation Programs.