Personal Financial Planner (PFP®)

The premier credential for financial planners

What are the Benefits of Holding the PFP®?

In addition to qualifying you to develop and manage comprehensive financial plans for your clients, your PFP® designation provides you with the following benefits and exclusive member access:

Get listed in CSI’s PFP® Directory, which helps clients find you and verify your credentials

Enjoy the right to use the PFP® trademark designation letters in marketing materials to promote your credentials

Access online resources and customizable marketing materials through the PFP® Member Portal to help you promote yourself, your designation, educate your clients about the PFP® and build your practice.

Free access to all webinars designed for financial advisors on the latest industry trends and topics through CSI Live.

Access to the member’s only PFP® networking group on LinkedIn.

Opportunity to conduct your own webinar through CSI Podium.

The CE Tracker is an interactive dashboard that serves as a central repository for PFP® holders to track and manage their CE requirements to maintain their PFP® designation.

National promotion and advertising campaigns that create awareness of the PFP® designation, including opportunities to be featured.

PFP® Annual Report

In appreciation of the time and effort you have put towards earning and maintaining your designation, we have created the PFP® Annual Report to provide more details about your designation. It outlines the number of new designation holders, promotional activities, member benefit activities and an overview of the PFP® Advisory Council meetings.

Download Report

How does CSI Promote the PFP® Designation?

CSI works hard to promote the PFP® letters on behalf of our designation holders. Our goal is to build awareness of the PFP® by emphasizing its value to the financial services community, employers and the investing public. We do this annually through advertising and public relations campaigns across print, digital and out-of-home (public) media.

View Campaign

How Can PFP® Holders Get Involved?

To help us continue developing, delivering and maintaining the Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) Designation to the high standard expected by the financial services industry, CSI contracts with practicing designation holders for compensation to participate in the development of the AFP Examination in the opportunities described below. If you’re interested in this great opportunity to contribute to the growth of your designation, please let us know.

CONTRIBUTE TO THE PFP®

Expand All| Collapse All

AFP Examination Review Committees

An Examination Review Committee is formed for each of AFP Exam 1 and AFP Exam 2. Members of each committee review and approve examination items, approve the final examination form and, with assistance from testing consultants, determine the pass mark for each examination.

Members of the Examination Review Committees are active participants in the creation of the examination. The development cycle for each examination includes the review of content and submission of feedback related to that content, participation in web meetings/conference calls to review and discuss the examination feedback and attendance in at least one in-person meeting to approve the final examination. Each development cycle is approximately four to six months in length and committee members participate for a two-year term that can be renewed. Committee members will receive an honorarium and continuing education credits for each development cycle.

This is an excellent opportunity for professionals with an interest in examination standards and expert knowledge in one or more areas of financial planning to improve and expand their own knowledge and skills through collaboration with other professionals.

Examination Item Writing and Review

With an extensive portfolio of courses and examinations, CSI relies on the subject matter expertise of a wide range of professionals in the financial services industry. If you have an interest in examination standards, writing, and sharing your knowledge and experience, consider putting your name forward to develop examination content. Item writers receive training and materials and are contacted on an as-needed basis to develop examination content for which they are remunerated.

Examination Standard Setting

Standard setting is the task of determining levels of performance for professional assessments. This involves, among other tasks, identifying candidate populations and making judgments on expected performance to determine the standard that candidates must meet to pass the AFP certification examinations. When a new AFP Exam 1 or AFP Exam 2 is published, a group is brought together to determine the standard necessary to pass the administered examination.

CSI hosts a standard setting session two to three times a year for new versions of AFP Exam 1 and AFP Exam 2. This is an excellent opportunity for PFP®s, who have the ability to judge the knowledge, skills and abilities required for entry-level financial planners, an interest in education and standards, a desire to expand their own knowledge and skills, and an interest in contributing to the growth of the PFP®s designation. Participants will be reimbursed for reasonable expenses related to the meetings as per CSI’s travel and expense guidelines.

Examination Marking

AFP Exam 2 is a constructed-response examination where candidates record written responses to posed questions. Such responses require marking from trained professionals against a pre-determined answer key and marking structure. The answer key is vetted and calibrated extensively to ensure fairness to all candidates. CSI looks to engage interested PFP® professionals to participate as AFP Exam 2 Markers. Selected individuals will be required to participate in training sessions and will receive a payment per examination completed.

If you would like to get involved with any of these opportunities, please visit the Subject Matter Expert page on our website to express your interest.

Get Involved

Request More Information

Would you like to keep informed about CSI's products and promotions?

Promotion Check

Quels sont les avantages de détenir le titre de PFPMD?

En plus de témoigner de votre aptitude à élaborer et à gérer des plans financiers complets pour vos clients, votre titre de PFPMD vous procure les avantages et les privilèges suivants :

L’Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers a approuvé l’usage du titre de PFPMD pour se présenter comme planificateur financier dans la province de l’Ontario.

Vous détiendrez un titre professionnel de planification financière reconnu par l’ARSF, qui est nécessaire pour vous présenter comme planificateur financier dans la province d’Ontario.

accédez à des ressources en ligne et à du matériel de marketing personnalisable via le portail des PFPMD pour promouvoir vos services et votre titre, informer vos clients sur le PFPMD et développer votre clientèle.

accédez gratuitement à tous les webinaires conçus pour les conseillers financiers sur les plus récentes tendances du secteur au moyen du carrefour des ressources de CSI;

Vous figurerez dans le répertoire des PFPMD, qui permet aux clients de vous trouver et de vérifier vos titres de compétence. Vous pourrez également utiliser les lettres PFPMD à la suite de votre nom dans vos documents de marketing.

Vous pourrez aussi profiter d’un accès exclusif au groupe de détenteurs du titre PFPMD sur LinkedIn en plus d’avoir l’occasion de mener votre propre webinaire sur la plateforme Tribune CSI.

consultez l’outil de suivi de FC, un tableau de bord interactif qui permet aux titulaires du PFPMD de voir s’ils répondent aux exigences en matière de formation continue afin de conserver leur titre;

profitez de campagnes de promotion et de publicité lancées à l’échelle nationale pour accroître la visibilité du titre de PFPMD, et bénéficiez de la possibilité de faire partie d’une des campagnes.

Rapport annuel sur les désignations

En reconnaissance du dévouement et de l’engagement dont vous avez fait preuve pour obtenir et conserver votre titre, nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter le Rapport annuel sur le titre de 2023. Ce document complet a été conçu pour offrir des détails éclairants concernant votre titre, y compris des statistiques sur les nouveaux détenteurs de titre, les points saillants des initiatives promotionnelles et un aperçu complet des avantages offerts aux membres.

Télécharger le rapport

Comment CSI fait-il la promotion du titre de PFPMD?

CSI s’efforce de promouvoir le titre de PFPMD au nom de tous ses détenteurs. Notre objectif consiste à accroître la visibilité du titre de PFPMD en faisant la promotion de ses avantages auprès de la communauté des services financiers, des employeurs et du public investisseur. Pour ce faire, nous lançons chaque année des campagnes de publicité et de communication sur des documents imprimés, en ligne ou sur des panneaux d’affichage.

Voir la campagne

Comment les titulaires du PFPMD peuvent-ils y participer?

Afin de continuer à répondre aux normes élevées qui s’appliquent à l’évolution, à l’octroi et à la préservation du titre de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD) dans le secteur des services financiers, CSI offre à des professionnels titulaires de ses titres des contrats de mise au point et de notation de l’Examen de certification en planification financière appliquée. Si vous souhaitez saisir cette occasion de contribuer à la croissance de votre titre professionnel, n’hésitez pas à nous en informer.

CONTRIBUEZ À LA COMMUNAUTÉ DES PFPMD

Tout afficher| Tout masquer

Comités de révision des Examens de certification en planification financière appliquée

Des comités de révision sont mis sur pied pour les Examens 1 et 2 de certification en planification financière appliquée. Les membres de chaque comité révisent et approuvent les questions d’examen, avalisent le formulaire d’examen final, et avec l’aide des consultants, déterminent la note de passage pour chaque examen.

Les membres des comités de révision participent activement à l’élaboration des examens. Le cycle d’élaboration de chaque examen comprend la révision du contenu, la communication de la rétroaction liée à ce contenu, la participation à des réunions ou téléconférences pour examiner les commentaires et en discuter, ainsi que la participation à au moins une réunion aux fins d’approbation de l’examen final. Chaque cycle dure environ de quatre à six mois. Les membres du Comité sont en place pour un mandat de deux ans, qui est renouvelable. Ils reçoivent des honoraires et obtiennent des crédits de formation continue pour chaque cycle d’élaboration.

Pour les professionnels qui s’intéressent aux normes d’examen et détiennent des connaissances techniques en planification financière, il s’agit d’une excellente occasion d’approfondir les notions et les compétences déjà acquises, tout en collaborant avec d’autres professionnels.

Rédaction et révision de questions d’examen

Compte tenu de sa vaste gamme de cours et d’examens, CSI se fie à l’expertise de nombreux professionnels spécialisés dans divers aspects du secteur des services financiers. Si les normes d’examen vous intéressent, ou que vous souhaitez rédiger des examens ou nous faire profiter de vos connaissances et de votre expérience en la matière, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous. Nous communiquerons au besoin avec les rédacteurs de questions retenus. Ceux-ci suivront une formation et recevront de la documentation pour les aider à mettre au point le contenu d’examens, tâche pour laquelle ils seront rémunérés.

Établissement des normes d’examen

L’établissement de normes consiste à déterminer les niveaux de rendement applicables aux évaluations professionnelles. Pour ce faire, il faut, entre autres, cerner les populations de candidats et formuler des jugements sur le rendement prévu afin de déterminer les normes auxquelles ces derniers devront satisfaire pour réussir les Examens de certification en planification financière appliquée. Lorsqu’un nouvel Examen 1 ou 2 de certification en planification financière appliquée est créé, un groupe détermine la norme à atteindre afin de passer l’examen.

CSI tient des séances d’établissement des normes applicables aux nouvelles versions des Examens 1 et 2 de certification en planification financière appliquée. Il s’agit d’une occasion exceptionnelle pour les PFPMD qui ont la capacité d’évaluer les connaissances, les compétences et les aptitudes applicables aux nouveaux planificateurs financiers, un intérêt à l’égard de la formation et des normes, le désir d’approfondir leurs connaissances et leurs compétences, ainsi que la volonté de participer au rayonnement du titre de PFPMD. Les participants recevront une indemnité pour les frais raisonnables engagés dans le cadre des réunions, conformément aux lignes directrices de CSI en matière de remboursement des frais de déplacement et autres dépenses.

Notation des examens

L’Examen 2 de certification en planification financière appliquée est un examen qui comporte des questions à développement. Les réponses des candidats sont corrigées par des professionnels qualifiés en fonction d’un barème et d’une structure de notation préétablis. Le barème de correction est soigneusement vérifié et ajusté afin qu’il soit équitable pour tous les candidats. CSI est à la recherche de professionnels qui détiennent le titre de PFPMD pour agir à titre de correcteurs de l’Examen 2 de certification en planification financière appliquée. Les candidats sélectionnés devront participer à des séances de formation et recevront une rétribution pour chaque examen corrigé. Si vous êtes intéressé, veuillez visiter notre page Web sur les experts en la matière. Participer

Demander plus d'informations

Souhaiteriez-vous que l'on vous tienne au courant des produits et des promotions de CSI?

Promotion Check