Personal Financial Planner (PFP®)

The premier credential for financial planners

How to Find a PFP® Holder?

Use the PFP® Directory to locate qualified financial planners who have attained the PFP® designation.

When you hire a certified CSI financial professional, you’re hiring an expert who has been trained by Canada’s most trusted and respected financial services education provider. Since it was established in 1970 as the Canadian Securities Institute, over three-quarters of a million financial professionals have chosen CSI for their career training and development.

Please note:

  • Individuals who were granted the original PFP designation and did not move over to the PFP® will not appear in this directory. These individuals have completed a comprehensive education program but have not committed to the new PFP® requirements of 3 years of experience, annual license renewal and commitment to the PFP® Code of Ethics and Continuing Education requirements.
  • Individuals who have been suspended or have their PFP® designation revoked do not appear on the CSI Directory of PFP® Holders in Good Standing. Information on sanctions placed upon PFP® holders for a breach of the PFP® Code of Ethics is available in the Professional Conduct and Governance section of this website.

Why Choose a PFP® Holder?

Everyone’s financial “personality” is unique—from needs and goals to risk appetite. As we transition into different life stages, our financial situations evolve. A solid financial plan—and a professional to guide us through—is critical. A financial advisor can build a plan that fits and, most importantly, keeps us on track, even when life throws us curveballs.

The Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation is a leading credential for comprehensive financial planning in Canada. It ensures that those who earn it are qualified to evaluate and manage all aspects of a client’s ever-changing financial situation.

Those who choose to work with a PFP® can feel confident that they have a financial plan in place that fits their unique needs. Not only do PFP®s provide clients with financial advice, but they are also held to high professional standards. They are required to abide by a Code of Ethics and fulfill maintenance requirements to make sure they always bring their best to the table.

Public Complaints and Ethical Misconduct Process

CSI has a responsibility to oversee the individuals who have been granted the PFP® designation. This oversight is carried out in the best interest of the public and the holders of the PFP® designation.

All PFP® holders have attested to abide by the PFP® Code of Ethics. Adherence to the Code and this Ethical Misconduct Process is mandatory. A breach of the Code of Ethics can result in disciplinary action.

Allegations of violation of the PFP® Code of Ethics are dealt with by the Designation Ethics Committee according to the CSI Ethical Misconduct Process. If the Committee determines a violation occurred, a disciplinary sanction is recommended.

Before filing a formal complaint with CSI, we strongly recommend trying to resolve the issue by speaking directly with the PFP® in question. Those who cannot come to a resolution are encouraged to send the complaint to CSI. Please do not send financial documents without removing any confidential or private information.

Please send your complaint using the submission link below. This link is used to file a formal complaint against a CSI designation or fellowship holder in relation to professional behaviour and a possible breach of the Code of Ethics. All complaints must be submitted using this form online. CSI will not accept anonymous complaints.

Submit Complaint

What is the PFP® Competency Profile?

The PFP® Professional Competency Profile provides an overview of the responsibilities, skills and knowledge that are unique to someone who holds the PFP® designation. It is the foundational document for the Personal Financial Planner (PFP®) designation that describes the required competencies (i.e., the knowledge, skills and abilities) of professionals awarded the designation.

The Competency Profile is the defining resource for what a financial planner can and should do in practice. As such, it is used to set the requirements for the pre-requisite education programs, the work experience component, the Applied Financial Planning Certification Examination and for continuing education requirements.

As the PFP® designation continues to progress to meet the changing needs of clients, employers and most recently regulators, CSI revises the Competency Profile every 5 years through an extensive consultative process involving a range of stakeholders. The last review was completed in 2021 with a new profile now available. Download your copy of the 2022 PFP® Competency Profile.

Download

Request More Information

Would you like to keep informed about CSI's products and promotions?

Promotion Check

Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD)

Le titre de premier ordre pour les planificateurs financiers

Comment trouver un titulaire du PFPMD?

Utilisez ce répertoire pour trouver des conseillers financiers qui ont obtenu le titre professionnel de PFPMD.

Lorsque vous engagez un professionnel du secteur financier accrédité auprès de CSI, vous engagez un expert qui a été formé par le prestataire de formation sur les services financiers le plus respecté au Canada. Depuis sa fondation en 1970, CSI a accueilli plus de 750 000 professionnels en services financiers qui l’ont choisi pour suivre des formations et faire avancer leur carrière.

Remarque :

  • Les personnes qui ont obtenu le titre de PFP, mais qui ne sont pas passées ensuite au PFPMD ne figurent pas dans ce répertoire. Ces personnes ont suivi un programme de formation complet, mais ne se sont pas tenues de respecter les nouvelles exigences du PFPMD, à savoir trois ans d’expérience, le renouvellement annuel de la licence et l’engagement à respecter le code de déontologie des PFPMD et les exigences en matière de formation continue.
  • Les personnes ayant fait l’objet d’une suspension ou d’une révocation de leur titre PFPMD ne figurent pas dans le répertoire CSI des titulaires en règle du PFPMD. De l’information sur les sanctions imposées aux titulaires du titre de PFPMD en cas de violation du code de déontologie des PFPMD peut être consultée dans la section Éthique professionnelle et gouvernance de ce site Web.

Pourquoi choisir un détenteur du titre de PFPMD?

La « personnalité » financière de chacun d’entre nous est unique, qu’il s’agisse de nos besoins, de nos objectifs ou de notre tolérance au risque. Au cours des différentes étapes de notre vie, notre situation financière évolue. Il est essentiel de pouvoir compter sur un plan financier solide et un professionnel pour nous guider. Un conseiller financier peut élaborer un plan qui convient à nos besoins, et surtout, nous permet de demeurer sur la bonne voie, même dans les moments difficiles.

Le titre de Planificateur financier personnel (PFPMD) est un titre professionnel de premier ordre en matière de planification financière au Canada. Il permet de s’assurer que son détenteur est apte à évaluer et à gérer tous les aspects de la situation financière en constante évolution d’un client.

Les personnes qui choisissent de faire appel aux services d’un PFPMD peuvent avoir confiance, car elles savent que le plan financier en place répondra à leurs besoins particuliers. Les détenteurs du titre de PFPMD assurent la prestation de conseils financiers tout en respectant des normes professionnelles élevées. Ils sont tenus de se conformer au code de déontologie et de respecter les exigences relatives à la conservation du titre, afin de constamment proposer les meilleurs services à leurs clients.

Plaintes de clients et procédure en cas de faute déontologique

CSI est responsable de superviser les personnes qui ont reçu le titre PFPMD. La supervision est effectuée dans l’intérêt du public et des détenteurs du titre de PFPMD.

Tous les titulaires de PFP® ont attesté qu’ils respectent le Code de déontologie de PFP® . Le respect du Code et de ce processus d’inconduite éthique est obligatoire. Une violation du Code d’éthique peut entraîner des mesures disciplinaires.

Les allégations de violation du code de déontologie des PFPMD sont prises en charge par le Comité de déontologie des titres professionnels, conformément au processus en cas de faute déontologique de CSI. Si le comité détermine qu’il y a eu violation, une sanction disciplinaire est recommandée. Le détenteur du titre de PFPMD peut accepter la sanction recommandée ou demander une audience.

Avant qu’une personne ne dépose une plainte formelle auprès de CSI, nous lui recommandons fortement de tenter de résoudre le problème en communiquant directement avec le détenteur du titre de PFPMD concerné. Si elle n’est pas en mesure d’obtenir une résolution satisfaisante du problème, elle devrait communiquer avec CSI. Veuillez ne pas envoyer de documents de nature financière sans avoir supprimé toute information confidentielle au préalable.

Veuillez envoyer votre plainte en utilisant le lien ci-dessous. Ce lien est utilisé pour déposer une plainte formelle contre un détenteur de titre CSI ou de titre Fellow en rapport avec son comportement professionnel et une éventuelle violation du code de déontologie. Toute plainte doit être soumise au moyen du formulaire en ligne. CSI n’accepte pas les plaintes anonymes.

Envoyer une plainte

Demander plus d'informations

Souhaiteriez-vous que l'on vous tienne au courant des produits et des promotions de CSI?

Promotion Check